Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Screw it, I'm going for a hike

2005-01-21 - 11:58 p.m.

this is an audio post - click to play

"So it's Friday today, but I had the day off because I switched my shift with one of my co-workers. She actually asked me to do it, but anyway. So yesterday after I got of work I was trying to decide what I was going to do with my day off. And I had this big list of things I had to do and mostly the list included things that I needed to buy, go shopping, things for my apartment, that sort of thing. And I just was having a lot of trouble getting enthused about any of it and I was feeling all fat and lazy so I decided, screw it, I'm not doing any of that stuff, I'm going for a hike tomorrow! And so that's what I did. I got out my Washington State Parks book and I looked up one that was within driving distance, but I also wanted to go for a drive so it wasn't too close. Yes, I know there are closer hikes than where I am, but I decided to go to Larrabee State Park, which is kind of up by Bellingham. Yeah, so I got here--and there is actually a road closed so it took me a bit longer than I expected--I got up at 6 and I got to the park by 10:30 and I started hiking and I hiked clear up to the top of Mt. Chuckanut, I believe this is called. And it's beautiful! I'm actually up there right now--I'm hiking down again--but there's a view of the bay, I guess the sound, and there's all these islands and the sun is out and shining and the birds are singing and it's really great! So I'm having a good time up here on the mountain and now I'm hiking down, hoping to beat the sun down. I would like to get back to my car before the sun sets. Don't know for sure if that's going to happen, but that's the plan. And then I guess I'll just drive home again. Although right now, you know what, a burger sounds really good. I'm not generally a burger person, but wow, I could use one now. Anyway, bye!"


A creature I found on the beach...any idea what it is?


I love this picture! This little mushroom is about two inches tall, but check out those spider webs and that water droplet hanging from the twig!


View from partway up Mt. Chuckanut of Samish Bay and some of the San Juan Islands


Sunbeams through the trees on Mt. Chuckanut


A small cascade along the trail on Mt. Chuckanut


View of Samish Bay and some San Juan Islands from the same point but later in the day


This bench is in someone's backyard. I'm so jealous.


Wildcat Cove off of Samish Bay


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Aaron Neville - Don't Know Much
One Year Ago Today: Slowly, so slowly

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->