Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The enemy of the "best" is often the "good"

2003-02-06 - 8:53 a.m.

Today is day three of the headache. I don't know what the deal is. I'm not usually a headache person. I get headaches, sure, but they don't usually last very long. Especially not more than a day. And it seems to be totally refractory to every sort of OTC pain killer. Ergh.

Last night's volleyball game sucked. Or more accurately, I sucked. I was less useful than a hole in the ground. The only thing I seemed to be able to do was serve the ball. I couldn't hit the ball in the court to save my life. Worse yet, I rarely even got the damn thing over the net. It was horrendous. On top of that only five people on my team showed up. It was Kevin, Dave, and Terry for the guys and then Marcee and me. Funny thing is we still won all three games. But it wasn't fun. I'm usually all over the place demanding that I be set the ball. Last night I was doing so horribly I kept hoping that they wouldn't set me. Once, while receiving a serve I tripped over nothing and passed the ball straight down. Another time I was in the front row setting when someone on the other team passed the ball too far and it went over the net. I jumped up to hit it back at them and ended up hitting it down our side of the net. Everything just seemed to go wrong. And the worst part is I have to wait a whole week to get back there and show myself that I don't suck.

I talked to DeenPo yesterday. I haven't talked to her in quite a long time. We decided that we're going to get together next Friday for dinner. We'll hopefully get some of our friends who are still in school to come with us. I haven't seen DeenPo since the Board.

Today I'm going to call the owner of Quincy Drug and tell him that I'm coming up for a visit. I was just going to drop in for a surprise visit, but upon further contemplation I decided that wasn't the best idea. So I'm going to call him. Why am I so nervous about this?

On Fridays the ID team does case reports and micro rounds. Micro rounds are where they actually go down to the microbiology lab and look at people's pathogens under the microscope. That sounds pretty cool and I'd like to join in. But Friday is now my clinic day. So yesterday I asked the Mole if I could switch my clinic day to Monday for the duration of my ID rotation since Thumbtack is no longer there. He said yes, but he thinks it would be beneficial for me to go to clinic this Friday as well as next Monday. Yuck! Beneficial? It's more beneficial for me to be sitting in the clinic being bored to tears than to be learning with my team? Plus Friday is the first set of resident interviews. I want to be there. One of my fraternity sisters is going to be interviewing this Friday. And Fluffy will be in Mississippi interviewing so they might need me to help with the interviewing. I wonder if the Mole will let me leave clinic for a few hours just to help out with interviews.

Yesterday I talked with Scotch about HIV for two hours. That was a very long time. Fortunately, I was able to cram enough stuff into my brain prior to the discussion that I sounded like I at least knew a few things. We didn't really finish though. Today we are going to talk about opportunistic infections that people with HIV/AIDS develop. I haven't studied for it yet. I have 50 minutes. I guess I'd better get to it.

Oh, but before I forget, I set another record for myself on the 5k. I ran it in 29:29 yesterday. And I even remembered to set the incline. After that I continued running and ended up running 4.07 miles in 40 minutes. Who knows? I may get to my goal yet.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->