Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Where a pal is a pal all along

2003-06-04 - 8:33 p.m.

Today is Day #4 of Random Guestbook Signing Week. Thanks to all the wonderful people who signed my guestbook!

I wrote today's entry on my PDA today at work. It's long and boring, so let's get to it!

7:10 a.m.

As usual, I'm early. Today is my clinic day. It doesn't start until 8. I've come to totally detest clinic. Not that I ever enjoyed it. I'm ready to leave this place. If it were a school I would say I have senioritis, but it's not so I guess I'll just have to say I'm lazy. I still haven't finished the ziprasidone monograph I was supposed to write and I haven't done a thing about the presentation my preceptor wants me to give the staff on eplerenone. Plus I still need to do an MUE before I go. I only have 26 days left and I haven't gotten the assignment yet. I haven't inquired more about it because the woman who is supposed to give me my MUE assignment is also the one who gave me the monograph assignment and I don't want to talk to her until I'm done with that. Plus now they've decided that I need to present my residency project at the next P&T Committee meeting. And Milkshake has decided that I should present my project at the next ACCP meeting and abstracts for that are due on the 16th. The ACCP meeting isn't until November and it's in Atlanta, so I'm not sure how that will work considering the fact that I have no idea where I'll be come November and whether or not my employer will take kindly to employees running off to meetings. They shouldn't mind because having employees that do research and get published makes them look good, but who knows.

9:31 a.m.

I am so bored. I wanna go home. Why can't I just go home? Oh yeah, the whole job thing. Do you remember how a month ago I complained that I had missed my deadline for taking the NAPLEX? Well, I was trying to decide whether or not I should take the Nevada MPJE. The MPJE is worthless without the NAPLEX, but I was thinking maybe it would be good practice for other MPJE's I might decide to take in the future. Maybe I should explain. To be a licensed pharmacist you must pass both the NAPLEX and the MPJE. The NAPLEX tests general pharmacy knowledge and is the same test for every state. The MPJE tests pharmacy law and is specific to each state. So passing the Nevada MPJE does not help me to get licensed in Washington, for example. California is the exception. We don't use the NAPLEX or the MPJE, we have our own test which is much more difficult to pass. So after graduation last year I signed up to take the NAPLEX and MPJE to get licensed in Nevada. Why? Because at that point I had no real intention of leaving California. I had a serious boyfriend who already knew where he wanted us to spend the rest of our lives. Taking the NAPLEX was supposed to be insurance in case circumstances changed and I wanted to go out of state. I would never have to study for the NAPLEX again, I would only have to study law. Having just studied for the California board, passing the NAPLEX should've been a breeze. But I got lazy and put off taking the test. I signed up for both tests at the same time so I didn't realize that my NAPLEX registration expired a month before my MPJE registration. I missed the deadline. The MPJE is pointless without the NAPLEX, especially since at this point I have no intention of practicing in Nevada. But I already payed the money. And it may be good practice. And who knows, my circumstances may change again. But there are problems. First of all, my registration expires tomorrow. I called the national appointment making center and they told me I'd have to call the local testing center directly to see if they will do same day appointments. I've called them at least 50 times (no exaggeration) and they've never answered. I will keep trying. The other problem, assuming I actually get an appointment this afternoon, is that I haven't studied. Deenpo took the MPJE and she said it was pretty hard. But then Deenpo has always been one of those people who swears she bombed a test and then ends up getting the highest grade in the class. Besides, I know California law pretty well, Nevada law can't be that different can it?

Hoo boy! Have I bored you silly yet? I've definitely bored me silly. Oh wait, I was bored to start with. I so can't wait to be done with this place. This morning I was talking with one of the doctors here. She is one of the two doctors here who I enjoy talking to. She asked me--what else?--what I'm going to do with myself after residency. I told her I don't know and I told her about some of the different options I've been considering. She was really cool and gave me a bit of advice and her opinion which I really appreciate because I've really gotten very little opinions or advice on the subject. Every time I really think about my possibilities I get excited.

I'm writing this on my PDA. I still haven't downloaded any programs for it. That's right, I have no games. No medical references either. Actually, that's not entirely accurate. I have downloaded programs. Both are audio programs supposed to play mp3 files. But I need an expansion card to do that so I haven't used them yet. Oh, by the way, happy one week birthday to my Zire 71!

11:13 a.m.

Sometimes I wish I would be diagnosed with a brain tumor or something that would explain my strange behavior and lack of memory. Preferably a treatable tumor that could be fixed so that my strangeness and forgetfulness would go away. Seriously. This morning I walked into the bathroom in the clinic. It's one of those one room jobs directly off the hallway. I walked in and shut the door. I went to lock the door, but instead of pushing the little lock button on the doorknob, I flipped the light switch. Unexpectedly, I was plunged into darkness, I freaked out and began groping for the light switch in the darkness, but I couldn't find it, even though I had just turned it off. I finally found it, flipped it on, and stood there for a while catching my breath. Tell me, do normal people without brain tumors do stuff like that?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: The Truth About Men - Tracy Byrd
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->