Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Don't touch the bunny

2003-12-31 - 12:22 p.m.

This morning I got up and gave my dad a hug. It made him really happy and he complained that I never hug him anymore. I guess it's true. It seems that I'm constantly annoyed with him. I don't want to be, I just am.

After breakfast this morning my parents took me to the new Costco that opened up nearby. They went there a few days ago and found that they were selling hiking shoes for only $16. I'm not desperate for hiking shoes, but for $16 how can I resist? So I got those hiking shoes plus a new pair of running shoes for $20. Yes, this means someday in the not too distant future I'm going to start running again.

I got a phone call from my scheduler this morning wanting me to work. Is she crazy? Like I'd really agree to work on New Year's Eve. I don't have plans, but still. I told I'd be available starting Monday. Ergh, I'm so horrible. I still haven't taken that damn test! Every time I think I'm going to I manage to come up with some excuse not to. I can't believe it's been so long. It goes right along with I can't believe how old I am. But that's a discussion for another entry.

Last night I talked to Flik. She was asking me for love advice again. I hope I give good advice. I don't think things are going to work out for her and this boyfriend. I think he doesn't treat her well enough. He doesn't seem to treat her badly, but I think Flik needs more attention than he's willing to give her. I encouraged her to stand up for herself, but at the same time, there's no need to make a decision about the future of this relationship right now, right? I wish I could be more helpful. But really, I think she just wants to talk to someone who is willing to listen. Tigger thinks Flik shouldn't be with this guy at all, so Flik doesn't feel comfortable going to her for advice about this.

Speaking of Tigger, when we were having dinner the other day, she told me she could imagine me with a Chinese guy more than with a white guy. I think she's a little nutty. Actually, I think her stereotype of a white girl is wild and crazy (Tigger is Chinese), and since I don't fit the bill she thinks of me more as a Chinese girl. I just happen to be tall and blonde. I have trouble imagining myself with a Chinese guy. I don't have anything against them, it's just, well, I don't know. For starters I like tall guys. She asked me if I'd ever been attracted to an Asian guy and I said yes, after all, there was Foo who is Korean, although I didn't tell her who. Anyway, it got me to thinking about going out with someone who's not white. I think it wouldn't be a big deal. He probably wouldn't catch my eye right away, but if I liked him, race wouldn't end up being an issue. Of course this is all theoretically speaking. I wonder how it would be in real life? Tigger says she can't see herself with a white guy. Flik, who is also Chinese, is dating a German guy right now, so I guess she doesn't have that problem.

The other thing I've been doing today is looking at cars. When my sister-in-law was here she was very interested in cars and kept suggesting various ones to me. So she got me looking. I want a Toyota Tacoma, but it really isn't very practical from any standpoint. Doesn't mean I won't get it, but I am exploring other possibilities. I have enough money right now that I could afford to buy a new car. But I don't think the time is right. I'm thinking before I empty my bank account on a new car, I'd like to explore my options in the house department. And of course before I buy a house, I'd like to have a job. And before I get a job I have to take that test damn test. Besides, the car I have now is working just fine. But it's still fun to look. One of the cars I'm interested in is the Subaru Impreza. It would be nice to have something with all wheel drive and also something that has some horse power to make it up mountain roads. I was looking at the Impreza Sport Wagon because it also has space for camping gear. The main problem I see right now is that the Impreza really doesn't get very good gas milage. I mean, really, it gets about the same milage as the Tacoma, which isn't good. Does anybody out there have any car suggestions?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: The Best Things Happen While You're Dancing - Danny Kaye
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->