Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Because there is no reason why

2004-03-04 - 6:28 p.m.

I've been pretty unenergetic all day today even though I got plenty of sleep last night. But I got up this morning and jogged 4.1 miles averaging 9:33 per mile which is one second faster than my previous record average on the 4.1-mile loop. Then I did a bunch of errands. I went to the bank and deposited a check for my dad, went to the store and bought groceries except cottage cheese which the store was out of (how does that happen?), went to the theater and bought tickets to see "Hidalgo" on Saturday morning, and went to the pet store to buy a fuzzy to feed the snake.

For lunch I made just about the best burrito ever. It was almost as good as Chipotle, I'm telling you. I bought this bean mixture stuff that really helped it. Plus I put rice in it. Today I cooked rice for the first time in my life. I'm serious. How does a person get to be 25 years old without ever cooking rice? I don't know, but I managed it. So there I was having to read the instructions on the bag of rice to figure out how to cook it. But hey, I did a darn good job of it!

After lunch I read a chapter from The Time Machine. After reading The Fellowship of the Ring and now this book, I'm beginning to think in more archaic language. It's kinda scary. I've been using words like "wont" and "hitherto" and "presently." But actually I'm enjoying reading it.

Then I went out in the backyard and raked up more liquid amber seed pods. The big wind storm we had last week knocked down a whole ton more. I had to wear my dad's wellies to get out into the muck that is the yard, but it looks pretty nice now, at least from a distance. And I completely filled up the green waste can again. But looking up in the tree I see that there are still a ton more of those seed pods up there. Afterwards I planted all the seeds that I bought. Except the asparagus. After reading the package I discovered that I'm supposed to soak those for a day or two before planting them. Yeah, so they're soaking now. I also discovered that asparagus doesn't produce a crop until its third year. Hmmm...well, I guess I'll just wait and see if any of it grows at all.

Tonight I was supposed to have a volleyball game. I got all ready for it and I was just about to head out the door when I passed by the answering machine on my way to the fridge to grab a bottle of water. The light on the machine was blinking. There was a message saying that the game was cancelled. Oops. There I was all dressed up with nowhere to go. So I changed to my PJ's instead and plopped myself down here in my recliner.

And now I'm going to see if I can finish my book.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Flies on the Butter - Wynona Judd
One Year Ago Today: ...As I lay down by the curbing...

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->