Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


She throws broccoli, too

2004-10-24 - 6:23 p.m.

Do you remember yesterday that I told you I took my grandfather down to get his flu shot and we had to wait in a really long line in the rain? Well, today he called and told us that the line made his local paper. So here it is.

Today was fairly successful. I had a few goals and I managed to accomplish all of them, with my parents' help. My first goal was to buy an outfit appropriate for an interview. I went down to the Roseville Galleria and managed this. I hate shopping. I went with the first suit I tried on that fit. It looks nice and it was on sale for only $39.99! Yeah that includes the jacket, the pants, and a skirt. Ok, so I won't be wearing the skirt anytime soon, but whatever. I also bought a shirt to go with it even though I probably didn't really need it.

My other goal was to buy a...um...doohickie. You know, one of those hardcover folder dealies with a notepad inside. Whatever, I wanted one to take with me while I interview because I think they're pretty professional looking and it'll give me a place to carry stuff. And I found one with no problem at Staples.

So I'm all set for my interviews. Except, of course, I still don't have plane tickets because nothing has changed yet in that department. I'll call Hospital #2 tomorrow morning and then if I still haven't heard from Hospital #3 I'll call them too and see if I can hustle things along at all.

Today I went with my parents to a Honda dealer to look at new cars. It just happened to be the first of many stops, not that we're really favoring a Honda or anything. We looked at the CR-V, Pilot, and Element. We decided that the Pilot is too big for what we need. And we hated the Element. It looks funky on the outside, but we thought we could get over that. It was the inside that was a real turn-off. It was bare bones inside. But my parents really liked the CR-V. It doesn't have all-wheel drive and my dad doesn't really like that, but otherwise they both liked it quite a bit.

My dad has been complaining because I'm insisting on taking a plane up to Seattle instead of the train. What, am I too good for a train? After all, when he went to Fort Lewis for basic back in the 60's he took a train. So what's my problem? So today in order to shut him up, I looked into it. It turns out that in order to take the train from Sacramento to Seattle you have to get on the train at midnight and then arrive in Seattle at 8:50pm the next night. The idea of him having to drop me off downtown at midnight was enough for him to stop bugging me about that. Thank goodness.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Holy Water - Big & Rich
One Year Ago Today: Somebody who can tolerate you

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->