Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The wind was all that blew

2004-10-26 - 12:50 p.m.

I guess this'll most likely be my last entry before my interviews. I finally have everything ready to go. I have all my hotel and car reservations as well as plane tickets. I just need to pack and print out maps and stuff. I'm pretty much ready.

Last night I went to the volleyball open gym. Unfortunately, at one point I dove for a ball and when I hit the ground, I hurt my shoulder. I've done it a million times before so I'm not sure why it hurt, but it did. It hurt to lift it, especially if I was supporting any weight. It happened near the end of a game, but another game was starting up right away. I started out playing, but poorly. It really hurt.

I rotated out to the sidelines and was standing there contemplating going home when the buff guy came over to me. "When'd you hurt your shoulder?" he asked, "When you dove for that ball?" I was surprised because so far nobody else had even appeared to notice that I was in pain. I nodded, "Yeah." "Is it your rotator cuff?" "I don't know, it hurts back here..." I pointed to the place, "...and when I lift it..." I gave my arm an awkward flap to demonstrate, "...where's the rotator cuff?" He smiled sympathetically, "Back there. You should go home." I wanted to cry right there. I wanted him to put his bulging-biceped arms around me so I could cry on his pecs. "I want you to stay," he added, "but I don't want you to hurt it more." He walked away towards the drinking fountains.

I decided that I agreed with him. Going home would be good. I walked away from the game and put my jacket on painfully. I started to leave and the buff guy came up to me again and asked, "Are you leaving?" "Yeah, I think I'd better." "Are you going to be here next week?" "Yeah, most likely." "OK, then, take it easy." And I left.

I got home and put ice on it and it was hurting pretty badly. I managed to not cry at all until I got in the shower and then I went to bed pretty early. This morning, though, it seems pretty good. My shoulder aches, but I have full range of motion without too much pain. It'll be fine, but I think it was definitely a good idea not to play with it anymore last night.

Shit, though, I'm totally crushing on the buff guy. Don't get me wrong, I don't find bulging muscles attractive. I mean, I like to look at them sure, but generally speaking the muscles are attached to an attitude so I stear clear of the muscles. But...he noticed me! I'm so Eeyore. "Thanks for noticing." Whatever.

Yesterday afternoon I went with my parents to the Toyota dealer. We test drove the Highlander and my parents liked it quite a bit. They decided that they didn't like the RAV-4 or the 4-Runner for various reasons. So my parents like the Highlander while they don't like the Pilot because the Pilot was too big. It seems to me that the Pilot and the Highlander are pretty much the same size, but what do I know. While we were there I got to look at a Matrix. I didn't drive it, but I sat in it and got to look at all the space in the trunk and everything. It looked pretty nice. I think today we're going to go to the Nissan dealer.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Back When - Tim McGraw
One Year Ago Today: Beans on toast

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->