Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Safely on our city streets

2004-11-18 - 8:18 p.m.

Today was a pretty good day. I don't particularly know why, but when I finished work today I was in a good mood. Probably a hormonal thing since Aunt Flo came to visit this morning, but whatever.

I drove up to a shopping center about six miles from my home today to go to Target (I go there for their groceries--who does that?). But nearby was a mall that happened to have a RadioShack so I got a new battery for my cordless phone. It seems like it's going to work, although I'm supposed to let it charge overnight before I actually use it. I actually bought a new phone a few days ago when this one wasn't working, assuming that I had two phone jacks, but it turned out that one of them is a fake (!) and now that this phone is working (and has an answering machine built in) I need to take another trip out to Target to return it. No worries, I'm sure I'll need more groceries one of these days. And oh yes, while I was in this mall going to this RadioShack, I happened to pass by the food court and there happened to be a place that sold bubble tea. Now, I've only gotten food court bubble tea once and it was the most horrible bubble tea I've ever had, but I gave it a try anyway. This stuff was really good! Gotta keep that one on my list...

At work today I actually got a significant amount of computer time in. It's weird, it seems like a large number of people at my hospital look like other people I've met before. But that's neither here nor there. So this morning, Miko, the eskimo pharmacist guy who was part of the interview committee and seems to be in charge of my training, set me up in front of a computer and had another pharmacist sit next to me and explain exactly how to do everything. I'm going to call this pharmacist Apple. She's in her late 20's or early 30's I'd guess, slightly on the plump side, and very thorough and patient. So we did that for nearly four hours before Miko sent me off to lunch.

I was feeling horrible at lunch (because I was an idiot and didn't take any ibuprofen this morning when Aunt Flo arrived even though I knew I would need to), so I went home (a five minute walk) and took some drugs and ate lunch there. Then I walked back and they put me back on the computer.

This time though, I was by myself! Yeehaw! Miko and Apple were both very close by for me to ask questions and I was going very slowly and throwing back the ones I didn't think I could handle, but I still think I was doing pretty well. Plus people kept asking me if I'd used that particularly computer program before and if this was really my first day on the computer and telling me that they were impressed with how well I was doing. I don't know if they were saying that just to be encouraging or not, but it made me feel good either way.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: The Bumper of My S.U.V. - Chely Wright
One Year Ago Today: Like water in a jar

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->