Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Follow the old man

2005-05-09 - 10:51 a.m.

Written this morning before the end of my shift:

So, how boring would it really be for you if I complained once more about how bored I am? Well, would you rather I talk about how gassy and bloated I am this morning? Right, I didn't think so. I did everything I have to do during my entire shift before midnight last night, so I have nothing to do now. My job at the moment is to wait for nurses from various clinics to come by to pick up their narcotics for the day and then spend 30 seconds or so being congenial and making sure they get everything. And trying not to fart too loudly. Oh wait, you didn't want to hear about that. There isn't even Joe the fly to entertain me this morning. I think I saw him over in purchasing a little earlier.

Oh wonderful, I was just told it's pouring outside. I only wore a sweater when I came to work last night. Hopefully it's not really pouring when I go home. It has about forty minutes to let up before I get out there. Also I need to walk down to the post office today. I have two books to mail. Last night I brought in Maeve Binchy's "Nights of Rain and Stars" to read. I love Maeve Binchy. This was probably my least favorite of her books that I've read and I still loved it. At any rate, it was so slow last night that I read over 200 pages and finished the book. That was before 2am. Admittedly, Maeve Binchy books are easy reads. The ending made me cry so here I was at work sniffling and blinking back tears. The techs now think I'm a complete sap. Anyway, after that I had no other form of entertainment besides the prohibited internet. So I surfed. I didn't go anywhere sketchy, though, just my regular haunts, so I don't feel bad. The no-internet rule was instituted to prevent people from picking up viruses and pop-up ads and what not.

I'm hungry. Too bad it's Monday. No eating. What's up with management and all these rules?

I had a coupon for a free Starbucks coffee on Mother's Day. I didn't use it in the morning, obviously, because I was headed to bed and that would just be dumb. Instead, I thought I would go out and get it first thing when I woke up in the evening to get me ready for my day. This coupon was only good for a few particular Starbucks stores, the closest of which is still about a mile away, so I hopped in my car and drove over there. Wouldn't you know it, this particular store had closed at 7pm since it was a Sunday. What a disappointment! So I went home and drank Diet Mountain Dew instead.

In the good news department, my scheduler talked to me today about switching some of my shifts in a few weeks so that I'll be working on tele like I trained. As it stands my next tele shift isn't schedule until mid-June. She's going to move it up to mid-May, so that's cool. I should still remember how to do everything then.

Fifteen more minutes until I go home. And then only one more shift of graveyards. And then you won't have to listen to me complain about this anymore! It's not the graveyard shifts that I mind so much really, it's just these horrible three hours of having nothing to do. And having to try to look like I'm not completely bored. And not having a chair to sit on while I do it. I'm really going to have to pay more attention to see what the usual guys do during this time. And then tomorrow I'm going to New York! Oh man, this last hour of doing nothing is totally going to suck tomorrow with all the anticipation! So today is packing for the trip to New York and cleaning my apartment for Somnambulist coming to visit. Did I mention that Somn is coming? Yeah, I'm going to have about zero time at home between the time that I leave for New York and the time that Somn sets foot in my apartment so things have to be ready to go before I leave for work this evening. But don't get me wrong, I'm totally looking forward to him coming. I think we'll have a lot of fun.

So remember how I was complaining about my eye being sore? Well, I wore my glasses to work today and have had no pain. It's still really red, though.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Homewrecker - Gretchen Wilson
One Year Ago Today: Turning to tart

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->