Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Turn me inside out and upside down

2006-08-30 - 3:13 p.m.

Last night was our last beach volleyball match. It sprinkled on my way over to Alki Beach and when I got there it was a little windy and cold and the sun was already headed down. Surprisingly, we won our first game. But then we lost the last two. By the time we were finishing it was getting really dark. About halfway through the second game I was noticing that I was having difficulty seeing the ball. The problem was that nobody else seemed to be having as much difficulty as I was. Were it up to me I would've called the match right there, but they continued all the way to the end of the third game. My depth perception in the dim light was minimal. Maybe I was just being wimpier about it than anyone else, but I don't think so. It kind of scared me that my vision seemed to be so much worse than anyone else's. Today after work I called and made an appointment with an optometrist in my hospital. I haven't seen an optometrist since I moved here, so I'm due anyway. Unfortunately, they can't see me until after I get back from England. I was thinking it would've been nice to have new glasses for the trip.


This picture and the one before it were both taken before my match yesterday and see how dark it is already? By the way, do you recognize this beach? It's where Meg Ryan spies on Tom Hanks while he plays with his son in "While You Were Sleeping."

So today I worked in the OR. Annoyingly enough, I still don't have access after/before hours. I get there in the morning before the doors to the OR are unlocked. I talked to the lady who's supposed to give me access on the phone on my first day of training. The girl who trained me that day sent her an e-mail. I've left multiple voice mails. But still no access. Today during my lunch break I stopped by this ladies office and spoke with her face to face. She promised she would get it taken care of. I'll find out for sure tomorrow morning. There's a "secret" entrance that Robin showed me that I can use to get into the main section of the OR bypassing security, so I can at least start my work in the morning, but that still doesn't get me into the lower section.

One Good Thing: I have on optometrist appointment
Song of the Day: How We Operate - Gomez
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->