Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Kiss me each morning for a million years

2006-01-24 - 8:35 a.m.

Saturday after work Lolo came over and took me out to a tapas restaurant I'd never tried before even though it's kitty-corner to my apartment building. Well, it's just not the type of place a girl would go by herself. Anyway, it was expensive but quite tasty. I think Lolo enjoyed it more than I did though. Afterwards, we walked up the street to Theater Schmeater where we saw a production of "Catch-22." This is a really tiny theater in the basement of a tux shop. The seats--about fifty of them--are two rows deep and on the same level as the stage. The acting was amazing. I was so impressed! The play itself was weird, of course, because it was Catch-22 so it had to be, but wow, the acting! The actors were better than most of the actors I've seen at the much larger theaters like ACT or the Intiman. Besides the guy that played Yossarian, all the actors played three or four characters--sometimes an actor would say a line as one character and then the very next line would be by the same actor playing a different character and it wasn't confusing at all--the actors were that good. I'd go back there again just for the actors--who cares what the play is.

He spent that night and the following morning at my place and then, since I don't have a TV, we went over to his place for lunch and football. We watched the end of the AFC championship and then settled in to watch the Seahawks and the Panthers in the NFC championship. Mmm...snuggled up with Lolo under a blanket on his couch is definitely the way to watch football. I had to leave at half-time though because I had a volleyball game that night.

When I got to my volleyball game I saw someone on the court warming up with my team who I didn't recognize. So I went over and we introduced ourselves. She said, "Hi, I'm Melissa, I'm subbing for Euc." I said, "Hi, I'm Euc." Apparently she was subbing for a Euc who was playing on the other team. It was pretty funny. Then, fairly early in the first game, I was double-blocking with a guy on my team. As we came down, he punched me right in the eye. It hurt, of course, but not too badly. The main problem was that he knocked my contact out of my eye. I had to do one of those "stop everything the fat girl lost her contact" things. Everyone got down on their hands and knees and amazingly enough, Melissa found it like twenty feet away and nobody had stepped on it yet. She picked it up and handed it to me and some guy on the other team let me borrow his contact solution. I took it to the drinking fountain at the side of the gym and popped it back in my eye, the whole time being rather grossed out by the unsanitariness of it all, but trying to hurry things up so as not to delay the game any further.

After my game, which we ended up losing rather pitifully, I called Lolo to see how the football game turned out. The Seahawks are going to the Super Bowl, pretty exciting, eh? I hung up the phone and headed home, only to realize I didn't really have any food in my apartment. So I called Lolo again and drove over to his part of town for dinner. I totally love that boy.

I managed to convince Buzz to work my MS3 shifts for me this week, so I'm working evenings again. Last night I worked with one of our per diem pharmacists who I don't really like working with, though. The only reason I don't like working with her is because she tends to talk a lot and does very little work. Plus she's always lead so she's getting payed more than me while I'm doing all the work--somehow I tend to feel a little bitter about that. I swear, from 10pm onward she did absolutely no work. She sat there and played solitaire on her computer. I verified all the orders and I checked the entire 11pm call up by myself. When it comes to being payed, our time clock rounds to the nearest 15-minute interval, so we can come in 7 minutes late or leave 7 minutes early without being penalized. Since I was getting a ride home from one of our techs who likes to leave early and since I had done the vast majority of the work all evening, I was feeling no qualms about clocking out and heading home at 11:53. At 11:52 I was all logged out of my computer when one of the techs said there were a few cubies to be checked. This per diem pharmacist actually had the nerve to tell me to go check them. I couldn't help it, I just laughed. She probably thinks I'm totally lazy for leaving 7 minutes early and she probably feels totally justified for telling me to check them, despite the fact that you'd be hard-pressed to find her initials on anything from last night. The thing is, I would've checked them anyway had she said nothing. Bitch. Oh well, that's the last time I'll be working with her for several weeks.

One Good Thing: The end of a secret?
Song of the Day: Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye - Neal McCoy
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->