Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Sit right here

2007-02-06 - 12:38 p.m.

I realized today the Flik asked me to write her a letter of recommendation for the apartment she's buying in Manhattan and I totally forgot about it. She asked two weeks ago. I wrote it just now and I should be able to print it out and mail it on my way home today. Hopefully it's not too late.

I went snowboarding with Butiki and her sister and her friend Saturday. We went up to Snoqualmie Pass and it was a lot of fun. I've only been to one other ski resort before this one, Heavenly in Tahoe, and I have to say that this one would have a hard time competing with that one. It's much smaller and much, much less interesting. Basically the ski lifts here go up the mountain and then you snowboard straight down. Sure, they had some jumps and things like that and you could zig-zag all you want, but the run just goes straight down the mountain. At Heavenly the lift takes you to the top of the mountain and then you wind your way down along varying trails. Very cool. But we still had fun at Snoqualmie. I fell down a lot, but I didn't do too badly.

Did I mention there were jumps? You know me, just because I haven't snowboarded in six years and that was my first time, doesn't mean I think I shouldn't attempt the jumps. I tried the jumps several times, but never actually stuck them. Biffed it every time. I decided that the reason for that was that I kept hitting them at an angle. I pretty much only went down the mountain at an angle because that kept me from going too fast. So my last time down I decided I was going to hit this jump straight on. Except I got going too fast and got scared and biffed it before I even made it to the top of the jump and managed to totally wrench my left arm. That shoulder was already sore (from my flu shot back in October despite the fact that nobody believes that's the cause) but after I landed I couldn't tell where it hurt. It just hurt everywhere and there I was sprawled out in the middle of the jump with other people wanting to use it. I was wearing a balaclava and goggles so nobody could see how much I was crying as I finally managed to drag myself off to the side. When the pain subsided enough I was able to tell that it was really only my elbow that I had wrenched. That night I couldn't straighten it or bend it even to 90 degrees. But it's gotten better, so I guess nothing's broken. I still can't touch my left shoulder with my left hand, but it's not too far away. I'm almost better enough to be looking forward to next time.

I spent the next day cleaning mostly. After "officially" unpacking all of my clothes a few weeks back, Lolo somehow managed to find three more boxes full of my clothes. How did that happen? So I donated a big black garbage bag full of clothes to Good Will. I figure if my closet is full, I must have enough clothes. If I get something new, I need to get rid of something old--new rule. I cleaned the bathroom and the kitchen but my office still really needs a lot of help. Then we watched the Super Bowl. There really weren't any good commercials this year, were there? Anyway, I watched the whole thing, feeling sorry for Rex Grossman the whole time. I was rooting for the Colts, but I wouldn't have minded if just one big play involving Rex had gone his way. Poor guy. Lolo watched the whole thing too, but he did it while reading a book. It's not fair, he has no trouble reading with the TV on, but it totally bugs me. I read really slowly in front of the TV and even then I usually realize afterwards that I have no idea what I just read and have to re-read everything anyway.


One Good Thing: Lolo and I are on nearly the same schedule
Song of the Day: Beer in Mexico - Kenny Chesney
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->