Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The difference

2002-09-02 - 12:43am

I finally made quite a change in the appearance of this page. I'm too tired to mess with it anymore tonight, though. I wanted to make some sort of an entry. I wanted to talk about my day today and also my day yesterday.

Today I worked all day. I got up at 6:30, left my house around 7:30, and got to work by 8:30. The cool thing is that I actually worked as a pharmacist. There was nobody to check over my work. I asked all sorts of questions and took my time in order to compensate for this, but it was still cool. Around 11 o'clock there was a code called and I was told I could go. The patient was a 41 yo black male with a stab wound to the chest. He had normal electrical activity but no pulse and no pressure (PEA--pulseless electrical activity). What would cause this? A couple of things. One would be a lack of blood. But that wasn't the case here. Another would be pressure around the heart so that the heart can't expand to fill up with blood to pump out. They placed bilateral chest tubes but got very little return. So then the doc decided to have a feel to see what was wrong. He stuck his hand in the guy's chest and felt around the pericardium (that was a pretty gross sight, the scribe had to leave the room at that point). I guess he didn't find anything. They never did really figure out what was the matter. He had one episode of v-tach but mostly he was in normal sinus rhythm the whole time. Three times they got his heart going again long enough for the docs to walk away, but the fix would only last for 5-10 minutes before his pressures would fall again. We pumped him full of epi, phenylephrine, and atropine, but to no avail. He was the first code I have ever been to (in my long and illustrious career) where the patient didn't make it. At about 1 o'clock I went back to the pharmacy and then took lunch at 2. From 2:30 to 9:00 I worked straight. My only real screw up that I know about is not thinking twice about a doctor's order to increase an 8 yo kid's enalapril dose from 12.5mg qd to 15mg qd. It ended up getting noticed by someone else and when the doctor was called on it he decided to leave it, but still, I didn't even check the dose. I usually check all peds doses. It just seemed like such an insignificant increase that I didn't even worry about it. Hopefully I learned my lesson. At 9:00 I left for home, ate leftovers for dinner, talked to DeenPo for an hour or so, and then got online to mess around.

And now it's late. I think instead of writing more, since my writing is purely superficial at this point anyway, I'm going to go to bed and get some sleep. Tomorrow is my parents' 30th anniversary and it would probably be nice if I was awake for it.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->