Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Whiskey for my men

2002-09-13 - 9:46 p.m.

I know, I know, I'm not supposed to be here. But we are all perfectly aware of my addiction to the internet and why suffer withdrawal symptoms when I can so easily just get a hit? I took my computer into my room and I'm in bed with it...yeah, really. My family is completely wacko. My grandfather has decided to spend the night in his car in our driveway. I think the reason for that is because he wants to keep his psycho dog, Chico, company. My aunt and cousin are sleeping on the living room floor and my aunt's boyfriend is sleeping on the bed in my brother's old room. What a sweetie pie boyfriend, eh? My parents are doing their usual thing and then there's me. We all know that I am perfectly normal, so I guess there's nothing to discuss there. :)

I know what you're looking forward to--you want the recap of my day, right? Yeah, bring on the recap! We want recap! Recap! Recap! Recap! OK, just for you. Let's see, I got out of bed, at 6:30, left the house at 7:30. Traffic was horrible, so I made it to work by 8:15. I decided to go to the Del Paso staff meeting anyway, I'm not sure why. So I sat there and listened to them plan their Christmas party for an hour or so and then finally was free to get to work. There was a huge stack of refills to do, plus I saw four patients. One of them was this foreign woman who was there for a diabetes follow up and had her daughter their translating. Only she never talked. I tried to get her to talk, but she wouldn't. I would ask her a question and her daughter would answer. Occasionally the daughter would ask the mother something, but the mother would reply in monosyllables and the daughter would talk to me in paragraphs. So who knows what was really going on. I did my best. The next patient was there to get a meter and some diabetes education. Only, of course, there was no meter for him and nobody knew anything about it. There was no chart note stating that he should have a meter and there was nothing in the computer stating that somewhere along the line someone had designated some meter as his. So I had to send him away with an appointment to see me again next Friday and a promise that there would be a meter for him then. I hate that. He was really pissed. It wasn't my fault at all, but I still felt really bad. Anyway, the next patient was a Spanish-speaking woman. I had no idea why she was there to see me. You'd think there would be a chart note or something somewhere. So I looked at her medication profile which was populated mostly by inhalers with a few TB drugs thrown in and decided to tackle the asthma. She seemed happy enough with that and I asked her if there was anything else she wanted me to address, but she said no, so I guess she was there for an asthma follow up. My last patient was an ex-druggie from Fresno. Lost all her worldly posessions in a car fire. She was a really nice lady, very eager to learn. I spent an hour with her going over diabetes stuff. Then I ordered her a meter (her old one was in the fire) and I will see her again soon. That took me to lunch. I spent the whole time after lunch working on refills.

The dummy light in my car actually went on yesterday on my way home from work. I was going to get gas yesterday, but forgot. This dummy light is very annoying. According to the user's manual of my car I have about a 13 gallon gas tank. However, I've driven for 50+ miles with the dummy light on and the most I've ever put in is 10.5 gallons. But that light makes me nervous anyway. So I stopped by the gas station on the way home today, spent $14 putting 10.2 gallons in. I got home around 5:30, Grandpa was already here. He and psycho pooch were out in the backyard taking naps. My aunt et al arrived at about 7 and we went to Chevy's for our pre-race feast. I'm so stuffed now. It was really yummy though. When we got home I decided to call Stretch just to make sure all is well in Stretchland. He swears he'll be there on time tomorrow, but he's not known for his morning punctuality. So he may or may not race tomorrow. It really makes no difference.

So I guess that's about it. I can't think of anything else of importance to tell you about, so I guess I'll kick my computer out of bed and hit the hay. Night all!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->