Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Flexible sigmoidoscopy entrance

2002-09-16 - 7:56 p.m.

Today pretty much sucked. At one point I was sitting dazed and confused thinking how I felt like I'd been run over by a bus. Then it occurred to me, no...I wish I would be run over by a bus. And yet, nothing really horrible happened. It was just one of those days.

Aunt Flo came to visit this morning. I was expecting her, but she's still a major pain. 400mg of ibuprofen and an hour for it to soak in was enough to make life tolerable again. I spent the morning at the family practic clinic. I did the same thing as last week--sat with Dr. Nuovo and gave drug advice while his residents presented their patients. There were two other doctors there precepting as well. One I never caught her name. The other, as I was listening to her explain to a resident how to treat a patient with DJD of the cervical vertebrae, I realized that she is my PCP! I haven't seen her yet because I haven't really felt an urge to do so and she only became my primary care provider when I got my new insurance in July. But now that I know I work with her I'm really hesitant to see her. Anything that I would consider going to a doctor for I know would involve sticking probes in places I would rather not have probes. And then I'd rather not have to work with the person who stuck the probe there. I don't know, call me crazy. Speaking of that, as I was walking to the clinic this morning I passed by a door with a sign posted on it. The sign said, "flexible sigmoidoscopy entrance." I thought that was hilarious. It sounds like a really bad euphemism.

Thumbtack paged me about 15 minutes before noon. He invited me to go to lunch with him and the other pharmacy residents. But at that point I was at about the peak of feeling horrible so I declined by making up some excuse. It was really nice of them to ask. I should've said yes. Only I couldn't. I really couldn't.

So in the afternoon I had project time. I used it by coming home, plopping down in my recliner and pondering busses. I went to my optometrist at 5. She agreed with my assessment that I still can't see. So she's ordering some more trial contacts.

After the optometrist came the gym. I did the 5k in 33:50, which is my best tread mill time by five seconds. I swear I felt like I was running faster today than I was in the race and yet I was still 2 minutes slower. I wonder what the deal is. Maybe I was missing feeling like a buffalo.

So that's it for my day. Basically I did nothing. Oh, I had a dream last night. Only mostly I don't remember it. It took place in my local library. I remember snippets, but not enough to be worth telling. The two biggest snippets I can tell about though. In the first one, there was this group of people sitting in the library. It was like those groups at mental hospitals that you see in the movies. They sit around in a circle and talk about their problems with one person as a mediator. So there were crazy people sitting around a round table. But in the middle of the table was a stack of reference books. For some reason I just had to get a closer look at those references. I was trying to be inconspicuous about it, but my eyesight is so poor that I couldn't really get a good look. I had to get in closer and finally I ended up just squeezing my way into the group and interrupting their therapy session. They were starting to get pretty irked with me. The second snippet I remember I was on the computer chatting with Somnambulist. This bit is a little strange, I'll see if I can explain it. I was chatting with him like normal, but I could also see him. He was standing next to me. Only he couldn't see me, because, of course, we were chatting and he can never see me when we chat. I decided I wanted to hug him. Only I didn't know if I should. But I really wanted to. So I was making my way towards him as I was making up my mind, but he couldn't see what I was doing because we were chatting. Anyway, after much timidness I finally went for it and hugged him. He was wearing jeans and a red fleece sweater. He hugged me back and it felt really good. I didn't want to let go.


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->