Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


And beer for my horses!

2002-09-17 - 7:53 p.m.

Today was a day full of middle-aged Spanish-speaking females needing diabetes follow ups. And they all showed up. It was fun though. I like doing my job, when there's a job to do. It's boring when no one shows up. So I got lots of practice working through translators. It's interesting, the various translating styles people have. I think I need to learn Spanish. I know enough to get the gist of what's being said, but not enough to get my point across adequately.

In the afternoon, my one patient that was scheduled did not show up. Then I went to my residency meeting and it only lasted an hour! It was wonderful! So I got home early, just in time to do...nothing! Woo-hoo!

Last night I had a dream. I don't remember too much. It was sort of Ender's Game-esque. Only it wasn't set in space. We were on an island or a peninsula. We were a bunch of girls all about my age, only everyone was Asian except me. I knew all of them (in real life), but none of them were good friends. We were divided into teams of about 4. Each team had a little shack to live in and we were all competing. There were different tasks that we all had to complete. We could complete them in any order, but whichever team completed them all first won. Anyway, my team was doing significantly better than the others mostly due to the fact that a lot of the tasks were physical and I was about twice the size of any of the Asian girls there. So anyway, my team decided to complete one of the tasks. It involved launching a raft made out of logs into the bay and somehow getting it across the bay and landing on an island. On the other side of the island was the mainland. Sort of like Alcatraz in SF Bay. So anyway, my three team members sat on the raft and paddled while I got a rope and swam out in front pulling. Unbeknowst to us, there were some fairly severe currents in that bay. Before we could make it across we got swept away past the island, but we kept swimming away from our peninsula and pretty soon we made it out of that current but got swept up in a current going the opposite direction. This one took us past the opposite side of the island. Meanwhile I was still swimming as hard as I could towards the island and the girls on the raft were paddling like crazy women. After trying as hard as we could to get to the island, we finally washed up on the shore of the mainland. And then we all busted up laughing. It just struck us as funny. We just layed there on the sand laughing til we were crying and our sides hurt.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->