Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Difficult and cute

2002-10-15 - 7:28 p.m.

Eucalia: God is lying to you
Zed: Life's full of small challenges

It's not even 7:30 but I'm already dead tired. I just looked at myself in the mirror and was shocked by how dead tired I actually look. Not that I'm usually much to look at. This morning every single one of my patients showed up. My first patient was a new start insulin. I've never taught anybody how to inject insulin before. In fact, I've never injected insulin before. I did watch someone teach someone else before, though, last February. But I never let on. I taught her everything she needs to know, I hope. The rest of my patients were fairly uneventful...until the last one. The last one was a 25 year old girl I see about every 2 weeks. I've been trying to get her diabetes under control but her numbers are insane. She used to have lows at in the middle of the night and lows in the middle of the day, but really high numbers first thing in the morning and good numbers the rest of the day. Well, at our last meeting I was able to get rid of the low in the middle of the day, but she is still having lows at night and highs first thing in the morning. So I increased her bedtime NPH, had her make sure her blood sugar was above 100 before going to bed, and then wake up at 4am to check it again and make sure it is still above 100. I don't like to do the waking up in the middle of the night thing, but night time lows are scary. I really don't want to kill anyone.

A whole bunch of deadlines are starting to come due. I'm starting to get a little stressed. Not stressed enough to actually get up out of my chair and do something, though!

I'm so sleepy. I don't think I can write any more. Why don't you go reread yesterday's entry, you might've missed something.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->