Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


FDA Approves Inspra

2002-10-17 - 2:38 p.m.

Ok, so now Spike knows. Kathy told him at lunch. Well, she didn't actually tell him. She just asked me if I was excited to be going up to visit Stretch this weekend. It was weird, I wanted Spike to know I have/had a boyfriend, I just didn't want him to find out while I was sitting there with him. I said, "Actually, I'm not going anymore." I've still only told 3 people about breaking up with Stretch. Kathy said, "Oh, why not?" I'm such a dork. I still was trying to avoid Spike finally finding out that I had a boyfriend so I said, "Things have changed." I'm so dorky. She said, "Oh no! When?" The whole time Spike was staring at me. I felt so guilty. I didn't really want to admit that I had had a boyfriend the entire time I had known him so I said, "A little while ago." "Oh, that's too bad," she said, "Boys are nothing but trouble, you're better off without him, right Spike?" I think she threw in that last bit due to the fact that I was visibly upset about the turn our conversation had taken. I don't know what Spike's reaction was, I wasn't looking, and he didn't say anything out loud. After a bit he asked, "How far away does he live?" I said, "Three hours." And that was the end of the subject. It occurs to me now that Spike still doesn't know that I only broke up with my boyfriend a week ago and, in fact, maybe things are worse now because now he knows for sure that I don't have a boyfriend. Prior to this conversation, he asked me if I'd like to go to a fundraiser with him. I asked what sort of fundraiser and he said, "A band with dancing and drinking." I said, "A band with drinking? Hmm." People who know me know that that was a resounding no. People who don't know me probably wouldn't be able to interpret that quite so readily, not that I blame them. At that point Kathy joined us, so the subject was dropped. However, during the course of conversation I also happened to mention a certain show that I think I would like to see. Even after the conversation regarding Stretch, Spike still asked me if I'd like to see the show with him this weekend.

There are three pharmacists (including me) and one pharmacy student working here today. We have three relatively full schedules for the four of us. I'm seeing my patients, Tanya is seeing hers, and Kathy is seeing Princess's. So what is Princess doing? You know, when it comes down to it, Princess is a great pharmacist. She knows her stuff and she's great at what she does. The problem is that she has terrible work ethic. She's spent all day on the phone with her boy toys and during lunch she went out shopping. She very commonly keeps patients waiting while she has personal conversations. It pisses me off. Sometimes I keep patients waiting, but its because I'm running behind schedule, finding their labs, or reviewing their charts, not because I'm doing my own thing. And then she has the audacity to tell me that I need to work on being more sociable, that I am too focussed on work. I'm sorry, but I disagree and I'm not changing that. She can give me a bad review if that'll make her happy, but I am not going to make patients suffer to please her. And it pisses me off the way she passes work off to me. Yes, I want to work, but I don't want to be the one who does all the dirty work. Just today she got an e-mail from a doctor saying that he'd like to switch which pegylated interferon is on county formulary. You would think that since he wants to do the switching, he should do the research too. But no. There's a pecking order and doctors are firmly seated at the top. Which means that he passes the work down to pharmacy. After all, we are in charge of drugs. So Princess gets the job. But do you think Princess would actually do something which would interfere with her social life? She passed it on to me. But the P&T committee meeting isn't until the middle of November! Next week is my last week at county. She's actually going to pull me out of my next rotation to come back and make this presentation to P&T. That makes me really mad. So I'm thinking about Covey and his Seven Habits...what would he suggest I do? Certainly nothing that would get me out of doing it. No, he would suggest that I look at it as a great learning opportunity. Not only do I get to learn everything there is to know about pegylated interferon, I also get to have the fun experience of making a presentation to the P&T committee. Ok, actually that is probably a good thing. I mean, I don't see myself being able to avoid making a presentation to some P&T committee sometime and the county P&T is probably much less threatening than the hospital P&T. It'll be a nice warm up.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->