Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


A puddle of drool

2002-11-04 - 9:45 p.m.

Why is it so difficult for people to not run over their kids with their cars? We had three admissions today (yes, three) of kids who had been run over by their own sorry ass excuses for parents. It makes me more than a little angry sometimes. Or even worse, we had an admission today of a little boy who's parents claim he fell out of his crib. Maybe so, but that doesn't really explain the bruises on his back, tummy and thighs that happen to fit perfect handprints. Non-accidental trauma. Yeah, come here, I'll non-accidental trauma you.

But really, pediatrics is going well. I like working with the kids. They are such cutie pies. We got a new attending today. I can't remember her name, it was something goofy. Dr. Doggle or something. She reminds me of Mrs. Dr. Ravnan except she's nice. Dr. Ravnan got her jollies by scaring the crap out of pharmacy students. Although I think she liked the fact that she couldn't scare me. Anyway, this new attending decided we would do bed rounds instead of table rounds so we got our exercise today. About halfway through we saw the little non-accidental trauma kid mentioned above. He is so precious. Anyway, after we examined him and put him back down in his crib he started to cry. He had a firm grip on all of our heart strings and was tugging mightily. He won out and ended up going on rounds with us. Craig picked him up and held him the rest of the morning, while the kid happily snoozed and left a snot puddle on his shoulder. I don't know, there's something about a man holding a baby that's pretty indescribable. It turns on all my maternal instincts or something and my good father/husband radar starts pinging madly. Seriously, if you're a guy and you're trying to impress a girl, borrow someone's kid and let it drool cutely on your shoulder for a while. It'll do miracles, you'll see.

Tomorrow night is Rho Pi Phi's broomball night. Broomball is so much fun. Unfortunately, we only do it once a year. I've had it on my schedule since they set the date months ago. I totally planned on going. But now, I don't think I can. Of course it's in Stockton, a 75 minute drive from my house, and it doesn't start until 10pm. It ends at midnight, putting me home past 1am. If I wake up at 5 as is my usual these days, that only gives me 4 hours of sleep. Actually, I could probably live on four hours of sleep. I wouldn't be particularly happy about it, but I could do it. What worries me is the midnight drive home. Plus, I told Kevin I'd play for his team on Wednesday. That doesn't start until 8 so won't be done until around 10 so I'll be up past my bedtime on Wednesday too. Anyway, I decided I can't swing the broomball thing. I'm really disappointed. I want to go. If only it was earlier in the evening. Well, at least now I won't have to tell the whole fraternity about Stretch and I. Stretch is Rho Pi Phi too. Maybe they know already. Stretch talks to Jaime and Katherine a lot and I can't imagine him keeping a secret for any length of time.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->