Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The howling of the wind

2002-11-07 - 10:53 a.m.

You never realize how great waking up every day at six in the morning is until you start having to wake up at five. This morning I woke up at six and it was wonderful. I have a feeling that Thursday mornings are going to be highly anticipated in the upcoming weeks. The rest of Thursdays, on the other hand, are not quite so cool.

I mean, there are cool bits, but all in all, the clinic is a tad boring to work in. And now I have to work here all day. It used to be that I worked here until noon and then had "project time" the rest of the day. I do miss project time. But the funny thing about being over here is that I keep worrying about my kids. I know they are in good hands, probably better and more experienced hands than my own, but I still worry. I hope nobody tries to OD any of my kids. Maybe I'll be a peds pharmacist someday. I do like what I'm doing now and I enjoy working with kids. And making kids' lives better is even more of a feel-gooder than making adults lives better. In the adult world it's like trying to stave off the inevetible, while in pediatrics its more like being a superhero and restoring order in the world.

When I woke up this morning it was raining. The first rain we've had here in 165 days, give or take a couple. After 165 days of oil accumulation on the roads and a typically light smattering of Sacramento rain, I expected there to be about five million accidents on the way to work this morning, give or take a couple. But I was pleased to find that that wasn't the case. There wasn't a single accident this morning. Can it be that everyone got up a bit early and drove a bit more carefully? Can it be that the residents of the northeast Sacramento suburbs are sane? Come on, we know that's not true! By the time I left for work the smattering had dwindled to a mere mist and by the time I got to work the rain had stopped completely. But the wind has been picking up consistently and looking out the window now I see the trees dancing precariously in the wind. Luckily, the lack of rain has left the ground nice and hard so the trees are unlikely to blow over.


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->