Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Pobody's nerfect!

2002-11-17 - 7:45 p.m.

Today was actually a really good day. Ah, what a nice vacation. Last night I stayed up until just about midnight messing around online. Talking to Somnambulist, of course, and downloading karaoke files. I'm sort of stocking up on them so maybe when my brother comes we can do a little singing.

This morning I woke up at seven. Yeah, I got to sleep in! We got up early to go stand in line for Harry Potter. We had tickets to the 9am showing. The movie was really good. The kids voices were a lot deeper than the first movie, but they're growing up, so I guess that's to be expected. Ron's voice kept cracking. The scene where he accidentally cast the spell on himself to make him throw up slugs was cool. Disgusting, but cool. He looked seriously sick. And the scene with the spiders was freaky (See Eucalia Fact #92). Joe Baltake, the Sacramento Bee's movie critic, didn't give this movie a good review. But then Joe Baltake is a freakin' idiot. He said it was "too true to the book." Seriously now, is there such a thing? Yes, it was a long movie, 2:41, but when I was watching it, it didn't seem long. And after it was over the first thing I heard from people were comments about how they left parts of the book out. When we left the theater there were people outside lined up to get into the next showing. I was wearing my Harry Potter quidditch jersey, which I actually bought two years ago in Time Square before the first movie came out. It was somewhat cooler then because they didn't have the movie out to show that this is not what quidditch jersies actually look like. But that's ok, it's still cool. Anyway, I got several positive comments on it as I passed by the line of people.

After the movie I grabbed a quick bit of lunch and then headed out to play volleyball. Today's crowd was almost completely different than the usual crowd, only they told me that they are the usual crowd but they just couldn't come the other two times I was there. Doug and Don were there, they are there every time, plus Dave was there, he was there the first time but not the second. Oh yes, Kevin was there too, although he came late. Other than that they were all new to me. A total of 13 people were there. And the cool thing was that all of them were pretty good ball players. We had some serious games going on. Usually we mix up the teams every game, but this time we stuck with the same teams every game. And we played a lot of them. We played for three and half hours. The teams were very evenly matched. I'm not sure if it was intentional or not, but we had the 6 white people on my team and the 7 Asians on the other. It felt very segregated to me, but nobody wanted to mix it up, so whatever. I think we won about half the games. Anyway, it was a ton of fun.

Then I came home, doctored up my feet, and worked on cleaning up my FOS (file of shit). I put a lot of it into my binder documenting what I've been up to during my residency, and threw even more of it away. I'm still left with a short pile of stuff that I don't know what to do with. I guess I'll just throw it back in the FOS for later review. And while I was doing this stuff I was munching on Mother's circus animal cookies, so basically, life is good!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->