Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


One day it was raining on this world

2005-02-12 - 7:03 a.m.

I've been up since 5:30 this morning. Yeah, not normally an odd thing for me, except that I've been on a late schedule for several weeks and didn't go to bed til 2 last night. So this is an odd thing. But I'm really not feeling well this morning, unfortunately. Good thing it's my day off, I guess. And I had already decided to take this as a "personal day." I haven't truly spent a day by myself since hiking up Mt. Chuckanut several weeks ago. And even then I had dinner with Duke and his friend. Sometimes I just need time to myself.

My plan today is to go shopping. I've been wanting a stationary exercise bike for a while. I mean, yes I get out and do some exercise, but I spend a lot of time in my apartment just sitting. Because I read a lot both for fun and to keep current with my profession. OK, so maybe not as much of the latter as I should, but still. Normally I grab my book or whatever and a snack and sit myself down on my bed (I don't have any other soft furniture) or the floor and read. And I'm getting really fat. It would be so much better to read while pedaling, wouldn't it? I'm pretty sure this is something I would actually do. A couple of my co-workers were talking at work the other day about how their treadmill and ellyptical machine have turned into nothing more than a good place to hang laundry. I don't think that'll happen with this. But anyway, I'm planning on going shopping for a stationary bike today. The store doesn't open for another couple of hours, though.

I'm also planning on hitting an Asian market while I'm in the area. I'm going to these stores in an area in which I haven't really shopped before, down in the south sound area, just for fun. There's a pretty big Asian market pretty near to my place (about a mile and half), but I don't like it as much as this other one (it's a chain I'm somewhat familiar with from California, Ranch 99). The one near home is more Americanized...funny that that would make me like it less, isn't it? Plus it was more expensive and it didn't have the good boba...heh heh.

So last night I worked with the girl who is in charge of the pharmacist schedule in my department. I asked her if she takes requests for the schedule, not for vacation days but just for off days "for like doctors appointments or something" to fall on certain days and she said she is "definitely open to requests." So I asked for my surgery day off and she looked and saw that I was already scheduled for that day off anyway. That's weird since I've never had a Wednesday off before. But cool. I also asked to have the morning off for my suture removal date and she managed to rearrange things so I'm working the evening that day. So that's one less thing I have to worry about, at least. And I'm getting better--I can now think about this surgery thing without crying. A definite step in the right direction, don't you think? Doesn't mean I'm not still scared shitless, though. So they want to fix the gums around 12 of my teeth. That's all but the very back ones in my lower jaw. I honestly don't think they're that bad, but I guess I don't know much about gums. But anyway, I'm thinking if they take enough skin from the roof of my mouth to actually cover that much of my gums, am I going to have any skin left up there? Oh man. I'm a little concerned about how well I'll be able to work the day after the surgery. I was hoping that Miko would be lead pharmacist that day because he's a bit like a father figure to me at work and I could take him aside and tell him what's going on and he would totally take care of me. But he's on vacation then and the lead pharmacist is Frosty. I really like Frosty (he reminds me of the singer), but he's just not Miko. Ack, stop worrying!

Anyway, remember all those pictures I posted a while back that you couldn't see? Right, well, I finally went back and uploaded them somewhere else where I can actually link to them. So if you'd like to see them, they're there now! I'll link to the entries for your viewing convencience: here we have my cheesy scones, Green Lake and a view of Seattle from Kerry Park, snow falling on my birthday, lots of pictures from my walk around Lake Union in the snow plus my new sheets and my lasagna, and lots of pictures from my hike up Mt. Chuckanut in Larrabee State Park (I really like a bunch of those from that trip). Phew that was a lot of work! Go take a look just to make me feel better!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: If Heaven - Andy Griggs
One Year Ago Today: Strike anywhere

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->