Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Cyndi Thomson, The Garden State, and you

2005-02-21 - 12:26 p.m.

I just called Magellan. He didn't answer his phone. Where is he, do you think? I called his cell, why didn't he answer? I don't know, I left him a message. I felt like such a dork. I made the mistake of calling him while pedaling my exercise bike. I thought I wasn't out of breath at all, but as soon as I started talking it became apparent that I was. So I left him this totally dumbass breathless message. I asked him to call me back. I hope he does. I don't know when I'll be able to see him again. I already made plans with Duke for the one day off I have before next Tuesday and I'm working evenings again because I switched my schedule with someone as a favor to them so I won't be able to see him after work either. I don't know, it's very frustrating.

I'm starting to think I should just give up on him. But on the other hand I really don't want to. We have quite a bit in common, but at the same time we're so different, you know? I was thinking this morning that what I really need is a guy who's different from me. I'm always looking for someone who's as similar to me as possible and then I end up bored. I have trouble imagining being bored with Magellan. I can imagine deciding at some point that we are just too different, though. I'd like to find out. If only he'd show me that he wants to make the effort.

Duke came back from Portland last night. I'm thinking of asking him to go with me to look at guitars. When I first thought about buying a guitar I was thinking I might just buy it online and call it good. But then I was thinking back to the time I tried to play a friend's guitar back in college and had trouble reaching my fingers all the way across the neck of the thing. I wasn't sure if that was because I have short fingers or because I had such horrible technique, but I definitely had difficulty with that last string. They make guitars with different widths of necks, right? So if I try them out in person I will at least be able to pick one that's relatively comfortable for me, right? Plus maybe the store person can give me advice on a guitar that would be good for me.

Last night I stayed up late watching "Kate & Leopold." That movie has so many issues, but if you don't really think too much, it's pretty good. I love the part when they are sitting together out on her back porch and then she falls asleep and he carries her into her bed and then stays with her there, fully clothed. Why do I like that part so much? I don't know.

I'm still reading Tom Mach's "Sissy!" I feel like I'm reading something written by a high school student. And not a particularly talented high school student. How did this book get published? It's an effort to make myself pick it up and then I usually set it back down again after a few pages. I've been reading this book for three weeks and I'm on page 87. Should I finish it? Life's too short for bad books...but I promised the author I would read this. Remind me never again to promise an author I'll read their book. Unless that author is Anne McCaffrey or Orson Scott Card or someone....

On the other hand, I'm loving the song by Iron and Wine called "Such Great Heights." It's from the Garden State soundtrack. I'm really enjoying that. Perhaps my musical tastes are expanding?

OK, I just talked to Duke and he's agreed to go guitar shopping with me tomorrow!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Such Great Heights - Iron and Wine
One Year Ago Today: Caring is never a mistake

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->