Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Not that lonely

2005-02-27 - 5:35 p.m.

One of the things I love about living here in Seattle is the city's ability to evoke from me an out-loud knee-jerk wow while I'm doing nothing more out of the ordinary than driving home from the grocery store.

And...if after you get blown off for the too-many-th time by some guy and you think, "Damn, what a waste of a perfectly good nickname," you may be addicted to Diaryland.

Anyway, today was Sunday but I worked anyway. I worked with O'Malley. I haven't worked with him recently because I've been doing a lot of evenings and he's been doing a lot of project days for CPOE. He got a haircut and it looks really good. Today was pretty uneventful. I hate it, though, when I'm stupid. Like really and truly stupid. It happens. Today, just because I happened to be nearby, I was asked by one of our IV room technicians to clarify a label for them. The way it works, generally, is that labels for IV drugs print out and then the techs make the IVs to match the label. So this one label wasn't particularly clear on what it was supposed to be. It was something that Apple entered yesterday evening after I went home but she didn't leave enough documentation behind for us to figure out what exactly she did, which basically meant that we had to start all over. It was for vancomycin to be administered via an ostomy tube and it ended up being a big hairy fiasco involving gooey precipitates made worse by--you guessed it--my own stupidity. Other than that, though, the day basically went fine.

And Magellan called while I was at work. He left a message saying that he has to finish up helping his friend move so he can't do anything with me tonight. I'm tired of it, really. I called him when I got home but I got his voice mail so I left him a message saying fine, I'd do my own thing tonight, but if he'd like to get together during the week he should give me a call. What I didn't add but was certainly thinking was, "but I won't hold me breath." I'd like it if he calls, but I think it's time for me to move along.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Such Great Heights - Iron & Wine
One Year Ago Today: Beware the bad cat bearing a grudge

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->