Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


How you gonna have a dream come true?

2003-01-09 - 7:13 p.m.

This morning I got to sleep in until 5. It was nice. I was at the hospital by quarter to seven. I realized I had left my clipboard with some papers that I wanted attached in administration so I walked there to get it. By the time I got back, the library was open so I went inside to answer my e-mail and catch up on diaryland. I swear I'm addicted to this site. At about 7:40 I got a page from Fluffy. He was chief resident before so he has been telling me stuff I need to know about my new position. So I called him and he said, "Hey, Eucalia, you know those management meetings I told you were on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays? Well, it turns out they're actually on the 2nd and 4th Thursday at 8:00." It took me a bit to realize that today is the 2nd Thursday. And I didn't know if I had patients scheduled to see. So I gathered up all my stuff and rushed over to the clinic where I discovered that I had one patient scheduled at 10:30. I paged the Mole and asked him if he wanted me to go to the meeting instead of being at clinic and he said, "Yes, that would be beneficial." So I high-tailed it over to the CUDA conference room, two minutes late and hot and sweaty. I was called upon to make some sort of announcement regarding the residents that would be pertinent to the managers there. And then it was over, I was headed over to the clinic again when the Mole paged and said there was something he wanted me to take over to the clinic and it was down in the basement. So I went all the way back. Then back to the clinic where my one and only patient DNKA'ed. And there I sat until 5pm while my brain rotted. I lacked the energy to even write an entry on my PDA. The only thing I really accomplished today was writing thank you letters to my grandfathers for the birthday stuff they sent. And now I'm down to about two functional neurons, so please forgive this entry for not being interesting.

I'm managing to carry on a couple of IM conversations, though, as I write this. At least one of them is going fairly successfully. I'm talking to this guy I haven't talked to in ages. Honestly, I can't remember his name. He used to write me really long e-mails. To which I never had enough time to respond adequately. I think eventually I just stopped writing. He doesn't seem to be holding a grudge though.

Oh! I do have a bit of news! When I saw Flik and Tigger I found out when their recital dates are and it turns out that Flik's is the day after Tigger's so I might be able to go see them after all! And also Flik has invited me to stay with her in her dorm room which would save me a whole bunch of money. I might not be going to Houston after all, though. We'll see. It's all still very up in the air, but at least it is a possibility!

Somnambulist wrote about me again yesterday. And he would like me to respond. Unfortunately, neither of my functioning neurons is particular up to the task. I guess I'll put 'em together and see what I can come up with though. He said, "there's a severe problem with wanting to live a fairy tale." In my opinion there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. In fact, there is a severe problem with not wanting to live a fairytale. Why? Because, as Rogers & Hammerstein fans know, "You've got to have a dream, because if you don't have a dream, how you gonna have a dream come true?" I don't want to settle for anything. Sometimes I have to do things I don't want to, but those things are always a bridge to something else that is better. If I give up on my dreams, I might as well give up on my life, it would be pointless. (Seth! I just remembered the name of the guy I talked about two paragraphs ago is Seth!) Somn also talked about how he wants to have a girl that turns people's heads when he walks into a room with her. And he said that when we were in Atlanta together, I was that girl. Ok, there, I have proof of Somn's deluded state. I don't turn heads when I walk into a room. In fact, usually no one even notices when I walk into a room. No one notices when I walk out of a room either. That's just not me.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->