Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Insert card to begin

2003-01-10 - 11:39 a.m.

Ah, Friday! I'm so excited that I get the whole weekend off. I haven't had this much of a break since Atlanta. And I'm going to take advantage of it. Tomorrow I plan to take a day trip to Yosemite. It's about a four-hour drive from my place, but I don't mind driving. And since it's winter, it will get dark early and there's no point in staying after it's dark, they don't shine a giant spotlight on Half Dome or anything, so I will be home by a relatively reasonable hour. I don't expect to make an entry tomorrow though.

For Christmas I received Tim McGraw's newest CD. I haven't had too much of a chance to listen to it, but from what I've heard, I like it. There aren't any songs on it that make me cringe and hit the skip button. One of the songs is actually a remake of Elton John's "Tiny Dancer." I didn't know that it was a remake until this morning when someone mentioned that on the radio. But I did notice that it's not Tim's usual style. I don't think I've ever heard Tim use falsetto before. I was just thinking, though, since Tim redid one of Elton John's songs, maybe Elton John should redo one of Tim's songs. Imagine the Elton John version of "Indian Outlaw." Hee hee :)

This rotation has been such a vacation. I was done with my work this morning by nine. Seriously. I have other projects to work on, obviously, so I wasn't bored, but I was done with the stuff I had to finish by today super early. This afternoon I'm running a journal club session for the students. These students are such whiners. I didn't realize it until they came back, but the two weeks when the students were on vacation were really pleasant. I mean, I like most of the students well enough, but they are just so lazy. Even when I am doing stuff to help them they complain about the extra work it entails. Sometimes they make me want to throw up my hands and say "Fine, fail the board, doesn't matter to me." But I don't. I try to be accomodating. The student I'm working with now on GI Surg is very...hmm...let's just say she either hasn't quite mastered the English language or she has an inadequate grasp on reality. Or both. But either way, I wouldn't want her to be my pharmacist.

**********

And now it's time for the Friday Five!

1. Where are you right now?

I'm in the computer lab in the library of the hospital where I work. Sitting in the very back corner where no one can peak over my shoulder and see that I'm not actually being productive.

2. What time is it?

It is currently 14:45:46 PST, according to www.time.gov, and that's accurate within 0.2 seconds, you know.

3. What are you wearing?

Do you really care? OK, then. I'm wearing black shoes, black socks, dark gray pants, a black shirt, a long white lab coat, my name tag, a pager, and my favorite watch.

4. Any people or animals around you? Describe them.

Yes, there are some people around. There is a girl using a computer in the row in front of me. She has black hair and she really is being productive. There is also a guy wearing green scrubs and holding a Starbuck's cup answering a page about someone's maintenance fluids on a phone nearby. Those are the only people I can see from here. Oh wait, another guy just walked in. Looks like a medical resident. Asian, glasses, long white coat. Yup, medical resident.

5. What are your plans for the weekend?

Going to Yosemite!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->