Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Nyquil Nightcap

2003-01-16 - 7:07 a.m.

After arriving home from work last night, I realized that I had forgotten to write an order for one of my patients. I had started her on a TPN and I had put her famotidine in the TPN but forgotten to write to DC the peripheral famotidine. So I thought to myself, "Hmm...I could call Milkshake and tell him I forgot...or I could call Fluffy and ask him to do me a favor..." but I didn't know for sure that either of them would still be in the hospital and I decided nothing bad was going to happen before I got back to the hospital this morning to write the order myself. As long as I didn't forget again. Which I didn't. This morning, however, I was heartened to find that nurses (at least one nurse) are smarter than they look. Someone figured out all by themselves to DC the peripheral famotidine. When I went to write the order this morning it had been erased from the RAND already. All I had to do was DC it in the computer.

Yesterday I was very lazy. When I got home from work I plopped myself down in my recliner and hardly wiggled until bedtime. When my dad came home and asked if I was going to the gym I told him I was too sick to go. And I was. Still am. Yuck. All I did was watch TV and do silly things online.

Speaking of watching TV, how many of you saw this week's Gilmore Girls? Geesh, they made Jess be such a jerk this week! If I were Rory that would be the end of it right there. He wouldn't go to the Winter Festival and then he was mean to Clara. Plus he wouldn't keep his lips off her. If that's what he wanted he should've stuck with Shane. And then what's up with Dean trying to get her back? He dumped her for a reason. And running around town with Jess attached to her lips only reinforces that reason. Although I have to admit I'm glad he decided to apply to a four-year school. Ok, I'm done with my Gilmore Girls rant for the week.

A while ago I talked about the folly of having an online journal, about how sometimes I wanted to write about things but didn't want to put them where everyone can see them. Well, as of two days ago, there is finally an answer to that problem. Diaryland will now provide me with a "private" folder where I can stick my "secret" entries I don't want other people to read. Very cool.

Also last night in my foggy-brained boredom I decided to join some diary rings. I'm not sure I like it the new look, though. I mean, I don't mind the little unobtrusive banners, it's that big picture of Mel Gibson that's making me unhappy. Not that I don't think Mel is worth being on my webpage, it's just that he's not really the theme of the page. And we all know that is not the best Mel picture out there. Oh well, screw it, I'll leave him there for a while.

Today is the last Thursday that I will ever have to go to clinic. Not that I no longer have to go to clinic, but I no longer have to go to clinic on Thursdays. Since I now have to attend those management meetings every other Thursday morning I can't very well be expected to take appointments at the same time. Fluffy is a little upset with me, though. Well, I don't think he is upset with me, just the situation. He had it set up so that he was in clinic on Tuesdays, the same day we have our residents' meetings. Which meant that he got out of clinic early to go to the meeting. Now he can't do that anymore because he has to take Thursdays. I'm thinking I'm going to switch to clinic on Friday. I have my choice of Tuesday or Friday. It would be nice to get out early on Tuesday, but I think I'd prefer Friday that way I can have all my hospital days together in one block instead of having one day off by itself like it is now. Thumbtack already has Mondays because he's going out to the county clinics.

Anyway, I guess that's enough rambling for one morning.

**********

1:17 p.m.

Outside, sitting on a bench overlooking the geriatric obstacle course, is an old woman. She is wearing a long skirt, has her hair up in a bun, and is reading a book. She has a tender half smile and the perkiest breasts I've ever seen. She sits on her bench rain or shine and has yet to flip a page. That's because she is a statue.

Dr. Crichlow is cool. I mean really cool. She is the only doctor here in the family practice clinic who has actually shown more than a passing interest in me. Although I don't think I'm annoying about it, I do think I've made it pretty clear that this is not my first choice of places to be. Anyone who asks will find that I'm interested in critical care and have highly limited experience in the outpatient setting. Dr. Crichlow ran into me in the hospital a few days ago and had her residents ask me their inpatient drug questions. I think they were a bit surprised to find that I actually do know a thing or two. Then this morning in clinic she was doing table rounds with her residents in the corner. Although I didn't feel like the expert I should, I definitely felt like I belonged and that I at least had ideas worthy of consideration. And just now she came by and asked me, "What's a good long-term sleeper for a male?" And although I'm not sure I quite answered the question to her satisfaction my comments were greeted with, "I didn't think of that," and "You're thinking, I like that." I don't know, apparently it doesn't take much to make me feel good. You'd think I'd feel good more often then, wouldn't you?

There's this resident that works here who is very buff. He wears scrubs every day. He wears his pager attached to his collar which pulls it down so you can clearly see the cut between his pecs. Everything about him exudes manliness. Today he brought in a big bundle of cashmere and has been knitting something white and fluffy. It's quite a sight.

By the way, today's winner of the chief complaint contest is, "Doc, I'm a fat old frog." Of couse there are still three hours left in the day, but she wins so far.

The weather today is beautiful. Bright and sunshiney and in the low sixties. Making me wish I hadn't broken my sunglasses in Atlanta. I ate my lunch outside today and looking around the parking lot I saw the cars were filled with napping residents.

Oh, you know the patient that DNKA'ed on me last week? Turns out the reason she DNKA'd was because she was admitted to the hospital. She was part of the group of Dr. Crichlow's patients we rounded on this morning. I guess I'll have to pay her a visit tomorrow.

And one more interesting bit of education I received today. Prince Albert Piercing. We had a patient who's boyfriend had one. She developed a nasty callus. None of the residents knew what it was, but the attendings did. Why is that?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->