Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


A bigger yes

2003-01-31 - 1:04 p.m.

I'm back to reading Covey's book about the Seven Habits. The Mole has decided that we are going ot start discussing those habits in our meetings again. I'm on habit three, which, according to Covey, is to put first things first. In other words, to make priorities. And then we should have the discipline to stick to our priorities. Yes, we should be disciples to our principles and values. We should organize and execute our schedules around our priorities. Which of course makes me think about my own priorities. It seems like I've always known them but seldom live by them. My priorities have always been living a comfortable but not lavish life. My priority has never been my career, even though looking at the things I've done you might not think so. Getting a Pharm.D. at 23 isn't what happens to someone who is unfocused. And it will definitely help me to be comfortable. But will pursung a critical care job lead me towards that goal? Working odd hours, weekends, and holidays? I think perhaps not. Can you tell I'm trying to talk myself into the Quincy job? Are you sick of hearing it? It just seems so perfect! I'd be working four tens, no nights, no Sundays, and no holidays. I'd be within walking distance of creeks with swimming holes and ponds that are ice-skatable, and quick drives from mountains and lakes. And the cost of living is not high. Low cost of living with average pay equals high pay. Plus happiness outside of work? The only thing missing is a husband. And who knows? Maybe he's there waiting for me, too.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->