Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Small times, nine counties

2003-02-08 - 8:07 p.m.

I'm tired this evening, I've been doing quite a bit of driving. But the most noteworthy thing I did today was drop into Quincy Drug for a chat with the owner. I think it went pretty well. It is, of course, very small. But I knew that before I went there. Everyone there seemed very nice. One of my main concerns was that they would go out of business soon and leave me stranded. I asked him, subtley, about that and he said that he actually does more business than the local Rite Aid. He also said that he does about 350 scrips on a busy day and 220 on slow days. He is busy enough that he recently put in a very expensive new robotics system and now still feels the need to hire another pharmacist. That doesn't sound like a pharmacy that's going down the tubes to me. Now I just have to decide if this is a lifestyle I can live with. But how can I know until I try? Anyway, I'll leave you with some pictures.

So this is Quincy Drug. If you click on that picture you should get a larger version to pop up, if all goes well.

And this is the view looking up the street from the drug store. Pretty quaint, eh?

After stopping in at the pharmacy I went to my grandfather's house where I found my 84 year old grandfather, 59 year old father, and 46 year old uncle pulling a fallen pine tree off of a shed while my lazy 24 year old cousin watched. After they got it sawed up and pulled off the shed, they showered and we drove over to Reno for dinner and then back home. And now, it's past my bedtime and I still need to make myself a lunch, so off I go!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->