Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


I drive alone with my mind

2003-02-10 - 8:31 p.m.

I've been watching a lot of that show "American Dreams" recently. I like it, it's cute. Last night, as the show was ending, they had Warren sing a song to Roxanne. I liked that song so I've been trying to find it. No luck though. Now the only lyrics I can remember are "Just another American folk song, written for another American girl." Does anyone out there know who sings this?

Today I came to two realizations. 1) I am my mother. 2) I never apologize. I was going to discuss these things...but maybe not right now.

Instead I'm going to tell you all about my day! I know that's what you were looking forward to. Today was another day in clinic. I arrived at seven o'clock. I usually go to the library or to administration and get everything set up for the day, but for some reason this morning I didn't feel like it. I sat in the car and continued listening to my book on tape for another half hour. I'm listening to "Snow Falling on Cedars" now. I read it back when it was all popular and I have to say, it's still good even though I know how it's going to end. I still haven't seen the movie. Then I pulled out the book I'm reading now and read that for another half hour. I'm still reading "Dragonfly in Amber" by Diana Gabaldon, and it's still good, I just don't have enough spare time. At eight o'clock it was time for me to go inside. Time passed. At lunchtime I went over to administration and paged Slick for lunch. She was too busy, though, so I ate by myself as I filled out my self-evaluation for SGI. Then I paged Milkshake and we went over my evaluation. He basically said that I'm too quiet. Surprise, surprise. But he also said that he thinks that if I volunteered a little more information then people would realize I'm not a complete idiot after all. I believe his exact words were that they would realize there "is something in that brain." He told me if I ever need a recommendation he would be more than happy to write it for me. Then he asked me what I want to do when I'm done with my residency. I started out telling him some version of my usual amorphous critical care idea, but then I ended up telling him about Quincy, too. I told him I know they are at the two extreme opposite ends of the spectrum and I'm not sure how to decide between the two. He was really supportive of both ideas. Then I went back to clinic and more time passed. I came home, went to the gym, did 5k in 33:09, 3.70 miles in 40 minutes, went home, showered, ate dinner, and here I am, up past my bedtime.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->