Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Doesn't even stand up to a good kicking

2003-02-18 - 8:58 a.m.

Have you had the chance to look out the window lately? Today is such a beautiful day! A little cold, but there's not a cloud in the sky. And this morning I actually made it out of the house on time. I've been aiming to leave by 6am, but it's usually closer to 6:15 by the time I get out the door. There was a nearly full moon out this morning.

Yesterday I went to the gym, but my performance there was pitiful. I only ran for half a mile before I slowed to a walk. I just didn't feel like running and I couldn't work up the energy. I think that had a lot to do with what I discussed in yesterday's entry. I've been trying not to think about that and now I've just thought about it and...ugh! But anyway, I ended up walking at 4mph for the rest of my forty minutes. I increased the incline though, if that's any sort of compensation at all. I'm thinking that very soon I'm going to have to start a bit of a diet. I've never been much of a dieter, and I'm not planning on too much of one. My main plan is to start foregoing the candy dish in administration. And the candy dish at home, too. But the one at home will be empty as soon as the Valentine's candy is gone. My parents are teachers so they receive a lot of candy on holidays such as that one. So the diet begins when the Valentine's candy is gone.

Yesterday, as I was doing my thing on the treadmill in the gym, I was watching Oprah on TV. I don't really have a choice about what I watch. Usually when I'm running I can't really read the closed captioning they have going on so I don't watch. And usually I'm focusing more on not dying. But yesterday I was only walking so I could read and breathe at the same time. Oprah was doing a "Princess for a Day" thing. She picked some women and gave them what they wanted. No one got anything I would've wanted. One got a new mini-van, one got a new wardrobe, and one got a whole new kitchen. Since when does getting a new kitchen make you a princess? So I started wondering what I would want in this Princess for a Day scenario. I decided I'd want a new truck and a mastiff puppy. Plus a whole lot of dog food and gasoline. I'm not sure how well dogs and trucks go with a tiara though.

Ok, see, I really need to be studying for a discussion I'm going to have with Scotch about community acquired pneumonia, but I really don't want to, so I think I'm going to fill out and post another questionnaire. Speaking of Scotch, though, yesterday we had a discussion about important lab tests done in the infectious disease world. She asked, "You know what clean catch urine is, right?" Yes, I know that it is peeing in a cup, but I thought there must be more to it than that. Is there some sort of special technique that makes it clean? So I said, "No, not exactly." To this she responded by pantomiming peeing in a cup. For some reason that totally grossed me out. And embarrassed me. Turns out there's nothing special about clean catch urine. So if someone ever asks you, "Do you know what clean catch urine is?" Just say yes.

So here's the questionnaire. I borrowed it from Somnambulist.

Three things I don't think you should listen to ever:

1. The sound someone makes when they realize a loved one has died. 2. People putting you down. 3. Bad advice.

Three things I say the most:

1. "Hi." 2. "I'm not sure..." 3. "Actually..."

Three of my absolute favorite foods:

1. Lasagna 2. Vegetable curry 3. Dark chocolate

Three things I'd like to learn:

1. How to play the guitar 2. How to remember things 3. How to speak and write Mandarin Chinese

Three beverages I drink regularly:

1. Water 2. Milk 3. Mountain Dew

Three shows I watched when I was a kid:

1. Smurfs 2. The Cosby Show 3. Reading Rainbow

Three random questions:

1. Spell your first name backwards: Ailacue 2. The story behind your user name: I was signing up for some account somewhere which required a username and I thought to myself, "How about Eucalia?" 3. Are you homosexual? No

Describe my:

Wallet: Small, black, skinny Hairbrush: Old, in desperate need of replacing, but still functional Toothbrush: Brand spankin' new Oral-B that's blue with sparkles and red rubber no-slip grip Jewelry worn daily: None Pillow cover: Light purple Blanket: Yellow, purple, green, and red plaid which isn't nearly as horrible as it sounds. Once described as "from the land of Rainbow Brite." Coffee cup: Paper disposable with "Java City" printed on it. Sunglasses: Brand new $10 jobs from Wal-mart, since I broke my old pair in Atlanta. Underwear: Black Victoria Secret today Favorite shirt: Gray T-shirt with the word "Pacific" printed across the front in black letters. Cologne: None CD in stereo right now: Toby Kieth's Greatest Hits, Toby Kieth's Unleashed, Tim McGraw and the Dancehall Doctors, Rascal Flatts' Melt, George Strait's Latest Greatest Straitest Hits, and Tracy Byrd's Ten Rounds. It's a 6 disk changer. Tattoos: None Piercings: Zero What you are wearing now: How embarrassing, I think I'm wearing the exact same outfit I was wearing last time I answered this question here. I'm wearing black socks, black shoes, gray pants, a black shirt, a long white lab coat, my name badge, and a pager.

Who or what:

Is in my mouth: A piece of gum Is in my head: Thoughts at the moment: I need to use the restroom but it's way over there, I think I have a crush on my previous attending, the jerk who told us all about another attending's TURP just walked in, I hope I know enough about CAP for Scotch's discussion this afternoon, should I post a banner advertising my journal... Am I wishing for: the love of my life, a job that makes me happy, world peace Am I going to do after this: Study CAP, eat lunch, discuss CAP with Scotch, round with the team, attend residents' meeting, drive home. Are my fetishes: Country music, books, Mel Gibson, dark chocolate Would I murder if I could get away with it, and for what reason: I really don't think murder would solve any of my problems or make my life better in any way. I guess I'd have to go for Saddam Hussein or Kim Jong, although I really don't know if that would do any good either. Person I wish I could see right now: The love of my life Is next to me: To my left is a window allowing me to look out at the beautiful day and to my right is the jerk to whom I've already alluded Are some of my favorite movies: The Sound of Music, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Conspiracy Theory, The Man Without a Face, Regarding Henry, Dave Is something I'm looking forward to in the upcoming month: Being a month closer to April! Is the last thing I ate: A bowl of oatmeal Is something that I am deathly afraid of: spiders, cement trucks

More random questions:

Do you like candles: Well, I have nothing against candles... Do you like incense: No, it makes my allergies go nuts Do you like the taste of blood: What sort of question is this? Ok, ok, no, I don't, but I like the smell of gasoline. Do you believe in love: Yes Do you believe in soul mates: I'm not sure. Do you believe in love at first sight: No, I don't think so, but I wouldn't be opposed to having my mind changed. Do you believe in Heaven: No Do you believe in God: No, at least not anyone else's definition of it. What do you want done with your body when you die: If I've still got usable organs, give 'em to people who can use them. Then put me in a big osterizer and spray me over a garden so I can help the flowers grow. Who is your worst enemy: Me If you could have any animal for a pet, what would it be: In a normal living situation I'd go for a mastiff. If I happened to live right next to warm ocean, I'd like to have a dolphin. What is the latest you've ever stayed up: About 40 hours or so. Can you eat with chopsticks: Of course. What's your favorite coin: Quarters What are some of your favorite candies: Dark chocolate, M&M's, Reece's Peanutbutter Cups What's something that you wish people would understand: Being negative, abusive, and intolerant is pointless. What's something you wish you could understand better: Life Who is someone that you really wish was still around: My maternal grandmother

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->