Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


How can they see with sequins in their eyes?

2003-03-26 - 5:23 p.m.

On the way home today I totally indulged myself. Yes, I stopped in at Best Buy and bought my very own copy of the Chicago soundtrack. As I type this Richard Gere is singing on my stereo. It's so much fun!

I didn't go to work today. Instead I spent my day at the court house. Yay, jury duty! I handled it just like I knew what I was doing. I found the jury parking lot and the jury lounge with no problems. I was really impressed with the ladies who were running the show in the jury lounge. I mean, they have to go through the whole juror orientation thing twice a day, and it's not exciting stuff. But they were able to do it with enthusiasm and cheesey jokes. It reminded me of the Jungle Boat ride at Disneyland. You know, those poor tour guides who have to give the same tour over and over again and still smile as they retell the same worn out jokes. I also thought it was interesting the way they let us go on break. A break from what? I was sitting in a chair reading a book and now I can take a break? I found that amusing. Yeah, sure, you think I'm going to get up and walk around so that someone can steal my chair and I have to stand up? I don't think so. I sat there all morning and finished the last 100 pages of the book I started in the airport on my trip to Atlanta in December. At lunch I went out to my car and got a new book. It's Lance Armstrong's autobiography which I'm reading for the Mole. I have to do a "book report" on it. Anyway, it's a very fast read. I read the first 50 pages in the hour after lunch before I got called for a jury. So far Lance Armstrong just seems like a big jerk. But maybe he'll change. So I got assigned to a court room, but I'm not in the first 18 jurors to go into the box for questioning. My job is to sit in the audience and write down my answers to the questions in case I get called up later so I can quickly go through them. I have to go back tomorrow for more of that. It's been an interesting experience so far just because I've never even been in a court house before, let alone seen how any of this other stuff works. Plus, it got me out of doing my presentation at the management meeting tomorrow...hee hee... I would like to be picked to be on the jury just for the experience of it.

Tonight I'm going to Stockton for the initiation ceremony of this year's pledge class into my fraternity. I've been communicating with my new littles through AIM and such, but tonight I'll actually get to meet them, so that should be fun. Plus I get to see all the other members who I haven't seen since summer when we did a blood pressure screening event at the zoo. I was hoping to do something with DeenPo before the ceremony, but I haven't been able to get ahold of her. And I was planning on wearing what I wore today, but I think I stink. And if anosmic me can smell me that I must really stink. Damn, I picked this outfit out this morning specifically because it would be perfect for the ceremony.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Part of Your World - The Little Mermaid
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->