Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


You have to travel the road

2003-04-04 - 7:31 a.m.

This morning I read Somnambulist's entry and was surprised to see how exactly it describes the way I feel. Seriously, yesterday a tech came up to me all excited about something he had just discovered he could do on the computer. In great detail he explained to me exactly how to use the ctrl-C and ctrl-V functions on the keyboard. When he was done he asked if I had known that. He was so excited about it I didn't want to rain on his parade but at the same time I couldn't bring myself to say that I hadn't known how to cut and paste so I ended up saying lamely, "Um, yeah, I think I did. That's really cool, though."

But at least one semi-good thing happened to me yesterday. A week or two ago I sat in on a meeting with a bunch of people from Cardinal and I thought I felt some sort of a spark between the IT guy and myself. Well, yesterday I was sitting outside La Bou eating lunch with Fluffy and Slick when I saw him again. He was walking into La Bou for lunch. I saw him coming and pretended I didn't see him. Yup, that's the way I deal with guys I like. Just a heads up for you guys out there, if I actually appear to notice you before you say hi and then am at ease around you, it's not a good sign that I'm interested in you. But he saw me just as he was about to go inside the door. With one hand on the door handle he stopped and looked at me and then he smiled. I smiled back and we just looked at each other for a few moments. Then I looked away and he went inside and that was that. My goodness, do I have a wild love life or what? But the point is that he remembered me and he actually paused long enough to smile at me. That's something, anyway.

**********

The invitation to interview at this hospital has officially been turned down. I sent an e-mail reply consisting of one sentence in which I thanked them for the opportunity and respectfully declined. Hopefully no one will take offense to that. But this whole thing has made me start thinking about my future again. Not that I really stopped, but you know. I'm leaning towards Quincy again. I think I may send off an e-mail to the owner just to let him know I'm still interested and make sure the position hasn't been filled yet. Is it funny that my biggest concern is whether or not I will find a man there? If I move there I will have to find someone who lives there. I don't think Quincy has too many employment opportunities. If I met a guy in Reno or somewhere he wouldn't be able to join me in Quincy because there would be nowhere for him to work. So I have to find a guy who already has a job in Quincy. But are there any? I mean all the people I know from Quincy were not able to find mates there. Well, except my cousin. But his only standard is that she must have a vagina, so that's not saying much.

So ok, how about a little foray into Texas transgender law? I bet you never saw that coming! But really, I was reading about something that happened in Texas. There was a male to female transexual who married a man. The man was fully aware of her medical history and they lived together happily for seven or eight years. Then the man died. I don't remember how he died but it was in such a manner that the wife felt compelled to file a wrongful death suit. The state of Texas denied it on the grounds that since she was genotypically male they never had a valid marriage of two people of opposite sex. OK, the next case involves another male to female transexual who also happened to be a lesbian. So this genotypically male, phenotypically female woman decides to marry her lesbian lover. The state of Texas allowed it on the grounds they they are genotypically of the opposite sex. I thought it was good that they stuck to the precedent but funny that both cases turned out the opposite of how I think they should have.

How many houses/apartments have you lived in throughout your life?

I have lived in three houses, one apartment, and two dorm rooms, although honestly I don't remember the first two houses.

2. Which was your favorite and why?

My favorite is the house I am in now because I grew up in this house. I have lived here since I was three with a five year hiatus for college. And even during those five years I was back here quite a bit. I like it because most of my childhood memories are here. Plus it comes with good food and free laundry.

3. Do you find moving house more exciting or stressful? Why?

I find it more exciting because each time I moved it was that start of a new adventure. In my experience it has often been a pain in the ass, but not stressful.

4. What's more important, location or price?

Location, far and away. Obviously I have to be able to afford it and I also want it to be nice, but more importantly it needs to be in a good neighborhood and preferably in a beautiful place.

5. What features does your dream house have (pool, spa bath, big yard, etc.)?

My dream house would be one story with lots of open space. It would have a big kitchen and a big living room with plenty of places to sit. It would also have a big library like in Disney's "Beauty and the Beast" with one of those ladders on rails so you can reach stuff. There would be a porch with a view. Part of the porch would be enclosed to keep out the bugs in the summer. The living room would have a big TV in it and there would be another room with a big picture window overlooking the view. There would be a pool in the backyard with a pool guy who would take care of all pool maintenance issues. The yard would be very big and the nearest neighbor wouldn't be very near. There wouldn't be a fence around the yard and the yard would be so big I would refer to it as "the property." The house would have a mud room. The house would also have a high speed wireless internet connection. It would be located in the mountains or by the ocean. Definitely not in a desert or in any sort of foothills. If I decided to get unrealistic about it the house would also come with a cook and an indoor volleyball court.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Over the Rainbow - Israel Kamakawiwo'ole
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->