Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The purple toe, revisited

2003-04-10 - 2:10 p.m.

I came to the library today to work on entering incidents into MedMARx. When I got here I realized I need the Facility ID for this hospital to sign in. On the computer I usually use, that is filled in automatically for me so I don't have it memorized. Oh well. So much for MedMARx.

Speaking of computers, remember the pharmacy shared drive I talked about yesterday? They moved it from volume 1 to volume 2 (I have no idea what that means) and for some reason, all I could get to from my computer was volume 1. This morning I asked our receptionist if she knew when we would get access to our shared drive again and she didn't even know there was a problem. Apparently my computer was the only computer in the pharmacy that didn't have access. Actually, that was ok because that way I at least knew that my files still existed somewhere. I had her e-mail me the ones I had been working on and then I called the computer guy to come figure out what the problem was. He came around noon. He didn't know what the problem was either. Then he rebooted the computer and of course it worked. How stupid of me not to think of that! That's like the first rule of computing or something, if your computer is acting funky, reboot it. But at least I got all my stuff back. I was afraid for a while that I was going to have to start over from scratch.

Yesterday I had a volleyball game and it was a lot of fun. I love that sport so much. Only four people from my team showed up, Kevin and Dave and another girl who is a college student at Consumnes River, a local JC. The other team, of course, had six players. They have this one big black dude on their team that likes to throw the ball. The ref never called him on it, either. It was so annoying. But anyway, we started out horribly. We were down something like 12-4. But then we made a comeback and won. We ended up winning all three games. It was pretty cool. Plus having only four players meant that I got to play more. I even got a pancake up, that rocked! We didn't end up getting the point, but at least we made that particular play. Next week Dave is going to be on vacation so he's not coming. I hope we can win without him!

OK, so next week (!) I'm going to the east coast and will be going to a Broadway musical in New York. I've been looking at all the musicals that are playing, but I can't decide which one I want to see. Would you like to help me out deciding which one to see? Here is a listing of the shows that are playing. Drop me a note and let me know! Right now I'm leaning towards Les Miz because it's a classic and it's closing in May. Or Rent is very popular too. La Boh�me is in its original Italian and I'm thinking maybe I'd prefer going to something I can understand. But most of them look like they might be good. Cabaret has Doogie Howser in it. Nine has Antonio Banderes in it. Gypsy has Bernadette Peters.

Oh, and I almost forgot about the purple toe, which I know all of you are dying to hear about. Well, running the 5k outdoors on Monday was apparently not good for my toe. The same toe that turned purple oh so long ago has turned purple again. I just reread that entry and it turns out that it turned purple when I was running outside last time too! This outdoor running must be hazardous for my toes... Anyway, it turned purple because there is a big old blood blister under the nail. I poked a hole in the blister and drained out a CC or two of red serosanguinous fluid. It felt so much better after that. And then last night I played ball. It didn't hurt too much at the time but afterwards it hurt like crazy. And today I have to make an effort to walk like a normal person instead of limping around. This morning the seam in the toe of my sock worked its way around so that it was running across that toe nail and it was excruciating. I ended up taking my shoe off and readjusting the sock, but then I had to put my sore foot back inside my shoe. Have you ever seen "Dances with Wolves?" You know that scene at the very beginning of the movie where Kevin Costner's foot is all infected and disgusting and he's about to have it sawed off by some fool? Then for some reason the guy with the saw gets distracted and Kevin Costner decides he would rather die than have his foot sawed off. So he puts his boot back on and gets on a horse and rides out unarmed in front of the enemy lines. Putting my shoe back on this morning reminded me of Kevin Costner putting his infected foot back into his boot. I'm such a wimp.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: A Few Cents Short - John Michael Montgomery
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->