Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Futless and fruitile

2003-05-27 - 1:51 p.m.

So yesterday on the way home from work I stopped by Circuit City to hit their CD sale. I walked in and sure enough the CD section was crowded and there were little signs all over that said "All CD's $9.99 or less." So I walked over and found "Rent." It's in a two CD case and has a price tag for over $20. I walked up close to the sign to read the small writing. In small writing it said, "Limit 3 items per title per customer." That's it, no other small writing. So I wandered around looking at the other CD's while I was at it. Since it was five o'clock on Monday afternoon, the selection was pretty well picked over. All the really popular artists were gone. But I found a few things I wanted anyway. Then I saw a Circuit City employee putting some CDs away so I went up to her and asked her, "Does the $9.99 thing apply to CDs that are two CDs in one case?" This little punk girl heaved a huge sigh as if she had been asked this question a million times already today and it was all she could do to muster the energy to answer it one more time, rolled her eyes, mumbled, "As long as it's under $13.99," and walked away. "Thanks," I said to her retreating back and imagined her with her big toes lodged in her nostrils. So anyway, the "Rent" CD did not fall under the sale, but I bought it anyway, along with two other CDs that did.

About five years ago my grandfather gave me a Sony Discman. It was one that he had had for years and wasn't using anymore. I think it's one of the originals. The thing's a monster. It has the weight and visage of a brick. He also gave me one of those tape adapter thingies so you can play it in your tape player. I never really used it because I was still driving Bob at the time and he didn't even have a tape player, and at home I could use my stereo. But yesterday I pulled it out, dusted it off and stuck it in my car, and I've been listening to "Rent" ever since. I swear I'm obsessed. The funny thing is that every time I listen to it I pick up on something I didn't catch before. I have to admit that when I saw the play I didn't always understand what was going on. Now I totally want to see it again. When I was there, there were people singing, mooing, and cheering along in such a way that it was obvious that they had either seen the thing before or listened to the soundtrack numerous times, or both. I want to go back and be one of those people! Not that I probably ever will.

Yesterday I also watched some TV. I finally watched the season finale of "Gilmore Girls" which I had taped last week. It really wasn't all that great. But cute, of course. I also watched another episode which I had missed earlier in the season but I had downloaded from the internet. It was the episode where the Independence burns. You know how I like to draw parallels between me and Rory, especially in the boy department? Well, seriously, Dean totally gets over Rory and gets a new girl right away and is totally happy with her but remains friends with Rory and Jess turns out to be a total pus bubble, even though we all knew he would be from the start, we just hoped for something better. Well, here's a difference, at least my "Dean" can get a haircut without me!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Light My Candle - Rent
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->