Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Give a mile to who?

2003-05-29 - 8:23 p.m.

9:48 a.m.

Here I am, brand new PDA, able to blog on the run again. This PDA has a slightly different language than my old one, though, so it's taking some getting used to.

Right now I'm sitting in the cath lab of my hospital. Since I'm doing a CCU rotation, my preceptor thought it would be appropriate for me to see this. I didn't tell him I observed three when I was a student. I seem to have some sort of curse. Every patient whose cardiac cath I observe ends up having normal coronary arteries. I've yet to see any intervention performed. Maybe that's a blessing, not a curse, at least for the patients. It's kinda cool, though, this doc is letting me come into the procedure room with him. The one I watched when I was a student made me stay in the control room with the technicians. I have to gown up in this suit of armor made of lead. It's funny though because it leaves the head completely unprotected. I'd think that's your most important part.

2:46 p.m.

None of the patients I watched ended up needing any intervention. One had a huge abdominal aortic aneurysm though. He will have to go to surgery sometime in the not too distant future for that.

Right now I'm trying to decide whether or not to spend some more m...

8:23 p.m.

...oney. My new PDA has an mp3 player, but of course how many mp3s can you squeeze onto the memory that comes with a PDA? Not many. So I want to buy an expansion card. Too bad it doesn't use the same cards that my digital camera uses. That would be cool. Anyway, I'm thinking if I'm going to spend the money to buy an expansion card I might as well go all the way and buy a big one. I can find an 128mb card for $76 online. Do I really want to spend the money? I still have to decide.

Yesterday it got up to 101 degrees here in Sacramento. I swear, it went from "Gee, it's the middle of May and I can still see my breath in the morning!" to "Holy mackerel, it's 6am and I have to turn the A/C on in my car!" in one day. Today it wasn't nearly as hot as yesterday, but the wind was blowing something fierce. I hate wind. My allergies were so bad today. I could barely breathe. The good thing about working in a hospital and having doctor friends and friends who have doctor friends is free drug samples! Daisy gave me an Allegra-D and I felt a lot better after that.

Oh, and I got my PPD read today and you'll be happy to know that I do not have TB. Yay!

I got a phone call from one of the members of my volleyball team today. Looks like I won't be getting another T-shirt, they lost the championship match while I was at Asilomar. I wish I could've been there. I'm not saying we would've won if I was there, but I still would've liked to have been there.

I took my PDA to work today and messed around taking pictures. Wanna see where I work? Well here's my desk down in administration:

That's my lab coat hanging on the back of the chair. The computer on the left is in the Mole's little cubicle area.

Here's another picture I took just for fun:

And since R.B. is out and about right now, I took a few more pictures of her for you:


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Good Bye Love - Rent
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->