Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Just doing my ADLs

2003-06-02 - 1:14 p.m.

So today is Day #2 of Random Guestbook Signing Week. I hit significantly more today than I did yesterday. Of course I'm at work and as such I should be working, but egads, where's the fun in that?

Well, in all honesty, rounds were sort of interesting this morning. We got a bunch of new interns, two new fellows, and a new attending over the weekend while I was gone. Both of the fellows are pretty hot, especially the pulmonary fellow, but both are also married. I think I'm the only not married person on the team. That's not uncommon around here. Sometimes I feel like I should put a ring on my finger just so I could fit in. And then during breaks in rounding I could tell stories about how my husband and I took our kids to the zoo over the weekend. But that's pointless, so I won't.

I was supposed to have my ziprasidone MUE finished by last Saturday. It's still not. I really don't feel like doing it. It such slave labor. Of course if I just did it then it would be done and out of the way and not hanging over my head anymore, but...

Where's my motivation? I'm so lacking in motivation. I wonder where I can find some. Slick asked me this morning if I knew what I was going to do after residency yet. I just laughed. She and her husband bought a house this weekend. Finally. Their bid was accepted and now, hopefully, she can stop stressing over the whole situation.

I should eat lunch. It's 1:30 already. The new attending really likes to talk and rounds lasted forever. But he was interesting so it didn't seem that way. One of our patients is a 91 year old lady who's on our service because of an arrythmia. Prior to coming to us she was on neuro and ortho because she fell down and banged her head on the floor resulting in a subdural hematoma and she also broke her arm. This woman is the epitome of the word matriarch. You can totally tell that she's used to having people jump to obey her every whim. Today during rounds the attending was asking her questions and she refused to answer him, she wanted to talk to him about what she wanted to talk to him about and that was that. It's sort of funny in a way. I mean, attendings are people who are used to having their every whim obeyed so to see him having to give in to this 51kg old lady is a bit amusing. And believe me, around here she's going to have her every whim obeyed. Why? Her son is a lawyer who has made it clear he won't be putting up with anything out of line. (Oh crud, Hungarian Radiologist just walked in and he's staring at me. Ergh...) Anyway, as our attending said to the team this morning, "Now we're practicing CYA medicine." But the thing is, most doctors do know what they're doing and they do have the patients' best interests at heart. For example, the son called up one of his mom's other doctors and told him about the arrythmia she is experiencing. The doctor told him that she needs to be anticoagulated. The son called the resident on call from our team demanding that his mom be anticoagulated, completely outraged by her subpar care at this hospital. Um, sir, did you happen to mention to your mom's other doctor the small little detail that she has a subdural hematoma? At this hospital we generally avoid killing patients, let's stick with that plan.

Anyway, I've had quite a few more people sign my guestbook for Random Guestbook Signing Week. Nobody spontaneously yet, I signed all of theirs first, but that's cool. Go ahead and head over to my guestbook to see who's been by. And also here's a shout out to Gump for decorating my GuestMap. Thanks, dude.

Another pretty cool thing I came across today is by the originator of Random Guestbook Signing Week, and that is On the Hour. It's a thing where during one given day per month everyone takes one picture per hour (or so) to describe their day. It looks pretty interesting. For more details I suggest you see her site. Unfortunately, the next day she has picked to do it is July 12. I plan to be in another state on that day. I've been planning on being gone then for quite a long time now. I'm sort of sad about it though because Zorro is getting married that day. But I can't cancel because lots of other people are counting on me to be there. So it looks like I'm going to miss Zorro's wedding. I didn't even know about the wedding though until I saw her at Asilomar, so somehow I don't think I'm too high up on the guest list. I'm sure she won't be too disappointed if I don't go. She will be the first one of my college friends to get married. It's sort of funny because I know three people who are getting married during a two week time frame. One of them is Zorro, my first college friend to get married. Another is my first high school friend to get married. Another is my cousin. My cousin and my high school friend are getting married on the same day. Somehow I think it is more important that I go to my cousin's wedding than my high school friend's, especially since we really aren't that good of friends anymore and I want to go to my cousin's wedding. My cousin is marrying someone he met online. Cool.

OK, I should go eat lunch or else it's going to be too late to eat lunch and I'll just end up skipping it. I was hungry this morning around nine o'clock, but for some reason my hunger passed and I'm not very hungry anymore.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Will I...? - Rent
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->