Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Light up a mean blaze

2003-06-09 - 1:30 p.m.

Today has been a good day so far, all in all. Nothing spectacular, other than the fact that I woke up this morning at eight o'clock and have yet to step foot inside a hospital. Yay!

First thing this morning I washed my car. I vacuumed the whole inside and scrubbed the outside. There is construction going on near my work so the thing was getting really dirty. Plus we went to the lake yesterday and tracked lots of dirt inside.

I talked to both Flik and Doodle this morning. I'm going to meet Flik in Stockton for lunch on Thursday. I can't wait. We also discussed going on a camping trip in early July. I think it's going to happen. We were talking and she was saying that her parents would feel better if my parents went with us. That's fine with me, my parents can be cool, and it makes my parents happier too. Then we were talking and her parents decided they want to come too. This should be interesting. I'm going to call Tigger and the Babe this afternoon and confirm with them that they will be coming. I still don't know if Doodle will come. She's taking the California Board exam next week and she already got a job. She doesn't start until mid-July, though, so hopefully she will be able to come.

I also took my mom out on the town for a morning of errands. First I stopped by the post office to send out two books for Swappingtons, one to Kentucky and the other to Ontario. Then to my mom's bank and my bank to make deposits. Yup, I'm rich now. Stopped by the library to return a book, back to Longs to buy a Father's Day card for my grandpa from my dad. Tried to buy a fishing license for my dad there, but they were out so we walked down to Albertson's at the other end of the shopping center and asked if they sell fishing licenses there, but they don't. Had lunch at the Taco Bell in the same shopping center and then drove down to Wild Sports for the fishing license. We had quite a time looking at all the fishing and hunting stuff there. There were all of these men in there being very serious about it all and then me and my mom laughing at it. We ended up buying the license plus a bright blue hat with an orange fish on it and a pair of reading glasses that clip on to sunglasses all as father's day presents for my dad. We found out that they sell live bait there that is much cheaper than the stuff we buy at the pet store as food for my dad's classroom pets. My dad teaches 7th grade science. And that was it for errands. When I got home I filled out the father's day cards I had already bought for my grandfathers and then the mailman came and he brought me a book someone was sending through Swappingtons. This book came all the way from Limegreenman in England. And I guess that basically brings you up to speed on what I've been up to today. Bored yet? But wait, there's more!

Yesterday afternoon the weather was nice so my parents decided it would be fun if I took them for a drive. Folsom Lake is at record high levels so we drove out to Rattlesnake Bar to have a look see. I definitely have never seen it anywhere near as full as it is right now. I could hardly recognize it without the dry barren edges it usually has. There was hardly any beach. I took some pictures. I know I've been slacking a bit in the picture department but I did get around to posting these pictures online yesterday. I also posted some of the pictures I took while I was at Asilomar. I posted them over at Eucalia's Place. Don't worry, I didn't post too many. Only about 20 total. I took one really fantastic flower picture, if I do say so myself. It's the last one in the Rattlesnake Bar group. And there are some cute Bambi pictures in the Asilomar bunch.

Last night I was talking with my brother online and I told him that I bought the 256mb card for my Palm. I told him I was busy loading music onto it, but it was going really slowly so I would probably end up doing it overnight like he said he does. Then he told me he does it overnight because his is 20 gigs. Suddenly my 256mb seemed entirely inadequate. My technophile tendencies are nothing compared to his. But anyway, that told me that I was doing something wrong, being that slow was not right. I was moving files onto the card using the same program I had been using to install programs on my Palm. I guess that's not the way you're supposed to do it. I'm supposed to do it using the program that came with it, Real One. I had it all installed, I just wasn't using it. So I tried to use it, but it wouldn't work. For some reason the program on my computer wouldn't recognize that my Palm was attached. I tried everything I could think of. I read all the help files. I reinstalled the programs on my computer and my Palm from the disk. Nothing helped. Finally I reinstalled the programs from the internet instead of from the disk. Then it worked! I could transfer files in a jiffy. So I filled up the card with the Rent soundtrack and a hearty helping of country music. Then I also discovered that I could plug my CD player to cassette player converter thingy into my Palm and play mp3 files in my car. Yeeeehaw!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: He Stopped Loving Her Today - George Jones
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->