Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


To huevos rancheros and Maya Angelou

2003-06-19 - 8:11 p.m.

This journal is for me. I write it for me. But the fact that other people stop by and read it and are occasionally entertained is really an added bonus. I love it when people care enough to make comments. So while it wouldn't be the end of the world for me if no one read this, I do like the fact that they do, and I can't help but notice that my readership is rather low. So I started wondering why does anybody read this at all? There must be some reason. But I'm not sure what it is. So I started thinking about what it is about other people's journals that makes me read them. And then I thought why not share that here? So here are my observations about some of the folks on my buddy list (in alphabetical order).

Ali: This girl lives really close to me. Her high school is less than a mile from my house. I don't actually know where she lives (and don't worry, Ali, I'm not any sort of stalker), but reading her journal is kind of like looking back at myself eight years ago. (Oh my gosh I feel old now, I'd never thought about the exact number of years before.) Obviously she and I are quite different, but it's cool to see my world through the eyes of a teenager.

Flood: Most journals I read I'm probably going to say something about how I like them because we are similar. But this man is about as dissimilar to me as they come. He's outgoing, friendly, has many friends that love him very much, and likes to be the center of attention. He likes to cook and when he describes the dishes he prepares, they sound heavenly. And he is eloquent. Very eloquent. A funny thing is, I think I have some sort of subconscious crush on this guy, if there is such a thing. I've had several dreams in which I've been completely enamored with him, even though I know I'm definitely not his type. I read his journal because he is so passionate about everything he talks about that I just get pulled right in.

Holly: I read Holly's journal because she just seems so happy and to have everything so good. It gives me hope. It's funny though, because I know perfectly well that she's not always happy and not everything in her life is good, but she is generally so optimistic about it. I feel like I may have more things like a functional car and good-paying jobs, but she has love. Sure, the other stuff is good, but what's the worth of it without love? Plus she likes to do silly things like I like to do like Random Guestbook Signing Week and Pieces of You and Quilted, to name a few.

Grlenamored: Again, I like reading her journal because she is like me. In a lot of ways. Poor girl. And by the way, that was my grandmother. ;)

Kellen: My first reaction when reading this guy's journal was, "Wow, a guy with a brain." It's nice to see once in a while.

Christina: I have never seen anyone so obsessed with Harry Potter. I wonder if this is just a seasonal thing?

Roadie: The main thing that caught my eye about this journal is the pictures. His pictures are always awesome. I have a bit of interest in photography, and I have to admit his pictures have influenced mine. I've been trying to get my flower pictures to turn out as well as his. Another reason I like to read this journal is because Roadie is closer to being in my dad's generation than in mine, which means maybe I'll get a little insight into my dad's mind. Come on, it could happen!

A lot of the people on my buddy list are pretty new to me so I'm not going to write much about them. One noteworthy new-to-me journal is Kim's. I'm not sure if my enjoyment of this journal comes from my newfound interest in Japan, the fact that I always enjoy a love story, or the way her writing is totally engaging. Whatever, I'm hooked.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Just Around the River Bend - Pocahontas
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->