Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


If it puts your mind at ease, you've saved humanity

2003-09-01 - 9:37 p.m.

It's September already! That means I have been unemployed for two whole months. I really need to do something about this!

Today was Labor Day and basically to celebrate I made absolutely, positively sure that I did no labor. I woke up at nine, took a shower, went out to breakfast with my folks and then just spent the rest of the day alternately messing with my computer and reading my book. It was 102 out today in Sacramento, but for the most part it didn't feel that hot to me. It was a very pleasant day.

Today was also the last day of the state fair. I didn't go this year. This is the first year since high school that I didn't attend. I don't know, it seems like they have the same things every year and I just never really had a desire to check it out this year. Last year I took Stretch and later Flik, Tigger, and the Babe drove up from San Francisco to meet us there.

I also learned from Heather that baby hummingbirds eat insects caught for them by their mothers. Apparently when they're babies they need protein, it's not until they're adults that all they eat is sugar water. Just thought I'd share that little bit of info with everyone so we can all be just that much wiser!

I made a little progress on how to trace an e-mail back to it's sender. Not too much, though. You can turn on the "full header" option in your e-mail program and then each e-mail will come with a "received from" IP address. You can take this IP address to www.arin.net and plug it into its WHOIS feature and it will tell you where that IP address is located. So while it doesn't tell you exactly where the e-mail came from, it can narrow it down for you. Except, I've noticed, that if someone's ISP is AOL, ARIN will always tell you it comes from Virginia, and AT&T is New Jersey, and I'm sure there are other exceptions, so this isn't always helpful. It's a start though, I guess.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: My Front Porch Looking In - Lonestar
One Year Ago Today: The difference

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->