Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Obtuse piece of flotsum

2003-09-02 - 9:24 p.m.

Today is my parents' 31st anniversary. Of course, you know me, guess where I was today? Yup, I had to make a trip to Hallmark this afternoon. But at least it wasn't like Mother's Day or something, it wasn't crowded. And they were busy putting out their Christmas displays. Is it almost that time of year already? Last year I never got around to sending out Christmas cards. I will this year, though, no matter what. I was thinking I should start writing them early because right now I'm not exactly busy. But what would I write in them? I usually write a short letter to everyone letting them know what I'm up to. I have no idea what I'll be up to at that time, so I guess I can't do that yet. Anyway, for their anniversary I took my parents out to dinner. And my dad remembered to buy flowers on his way home from work today, so everything went well.

OK, here's another informatinal session about hummingbirds, courtesy of Heather. Yesterday I mentioned that baby hummingbirds eat bugs but adult hummingbirds eat nothing but sugar water. Turns out I was wrong about that. Adult hummingbirds also eat lots of bugs. I've never seen them eating bugs, but I guess I just haven't been watching closely enough.

I've finally gathered all the things I need in order to apply for my Washington license. Tomorrow I'll get that application in the mail and I'll be one step closer to having a job. It's sort of funny, today GrlE signed my guestbook. She told me that she hasn't read my diary for a while but now that she has, it seems like my life has changed a lot. The reason it's funny is because I've been thinking that my life hasn't changed hardly at all in the past year. Other than being unemployed I've made absolutely no progress in life whatsoever. Wait, that's not progress, is it.

Just for the fun of it, I'd like to post another picture here. This is a picture I took in Japan on the Hozugawa River near Kyoto. I loved this place. The river looks a little discolored because it's actually covered in mist, although you can't tell from the picture. Imagine it's hot and humid and you're dripping in sweat and the cicadas are so loud you have to shout to be heard by someone standing right next to you.


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Wrinkles - Diamond Rio
One Year Ago Today: Pictures and dream

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->