Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Perfect combinations

2003-09-03 - 11:45 p.m.

When I woke up this morning I was in a good mood. It's been such a long time since that has happened I hardly recognized the feeling. Then, for some reason, the first song that popped into my head was a song that Tigger and I actually wrote together at the end of freshman year. At that point we were friends, but not good friends--we just didn't know each other very well yet. But she was a music major and all done with her finals. She had to stick around until after finals were over to play in the orchestra at the commencement ceremony and I had more finals but I was never really into studying as an undergrad. Flik had gone home because she was done with her finals and wasn't in the orchestra and everyone else was still taking finals. Tigger was bored so I went with her over to the practice rooms and we played around and wrote a few songs. Mostly she wrote the music and I wrote the lyrics, but we both contributed to each. We tried to do some serious songs and they didn't come out so great, but this one was our one goofy song that we wrote for all our friends. I'm going to share it with you in a moment, but first I'll give you a bit of background so it makes sense. I had planned a camping trip for my friends for during the summer but the only one who ended up being able to go with me was the Babe (although in the end the whole trip was cancelled). And Zorro and Snow White were planning on going to a church camp together. So here is our song (although the lyrics are a bit funky with the names changed...):

It's the end of the semester
and our finals are done
we're going home
and we're gonna have fun
(oh yeah!)

Out in the forest
Euc goes for a hike
the Babe's asking:
"Why can't we ride a bike?"
(Aiya!)

Snow White and Zorro
gettin' closer to God
(Amen!)
then they'll be roommates
like two peas in a pod

Tigger watches TV
every day,
playing the piano
that'd be Flik

It's the end of the semester
and our finals are done
we're going home
and we're gonna have fun...

(slow way down here and sing very dramatically)
But we won't be together
over the summer
miles apart
oh what a bummer!
(How. Sad.)

(a tempo back to cheery)
But August will come
and then we'll be back
guess we'll see you then!

In the lounge area of our dorm freshman year, there was a baby grand piano. After we had finished writing the song we gathered all of these friends up and performed it for them there. Tigger played the piano and we both sang. But as we were walking towards the piano I realized that there was another girl with everyone who wasn't in our close group of friends but was still a friend of everyone there. So we quickly changed the lyrics, dropping the line "Tigger watches TV" and throwing in "Cathy plays her oboe" in its place. It worked out just fine. Ah, those days were so much fun!

My main accomplishment for today was sending off my application for a Washington license. I also ended up having to pay ten bucks to the California Board of Pharmacy just to get them to write a letter to the Washington Board of Pharmacy. You'd think for that amount of money they'd be able to hire someone to answer the phone! I filled the rest of my day by working on projects for my dad's classes. I worked on them quite a bit and still didn't finish, so it looks like I'll be doing that tomorrow, too. That and mowing the lawn.

OK, I have a question for all of you. I recently received a snail mail chain letter from one of my friends. I haven't actually participated in a real chain letter since elementary school, but this one has a bit of a twist to it. Instead of sending the first person on the list a postcard, this chain letter asks that you send a kitchen towel. So you send one towel to the first person on the list and then you take that name off the list and add your name to the bottom of the list and send the whole letter on to six more people. I thought this idea sounds just wacky enough to be amusing. Imagine getting a whole bunch of towels in the mail from all over. Just what everyone needs--towels! But anyway, I was just wondering if any of you out there would like to participate in this. If you would like me to send you this letter, just let me know!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: The End of the Semester - Tigger & Eucalia
One Year Ago Today: Bleah

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->