Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


You make it sound like a disease

2003-09-04 - 9:04 p.m.

This morning I was reading the newspaper a bit about last night's political debates for California's governor. I almost feel sorry for Arnold. I wish he wasn't running. But anyway, the paper was nice enough to print a little summary of where five of the candidates plus the current governor stand on certain issues. I was noticing that there is only one candidate who actually has a different opinion than the others on most issues. Hmm...interesting. But you know what? I keep wondering what Stretch would think of all this. He always had opinions on everything political and it wasn't that I didn't like hearing his opinions, it was that every time I gave mine he shot them down. Which he said wasn't that he was shooting them down, it was that he found problems with them and wanted me to tell him how I came to my conclusions. He wanted a debate with me. But I'm a horrible debater, mostly because I don't necessarily ponder my stance on an issue before choosing sides. So if I tried, I always ended up feeling incredibly stupid, and I ended up just trying to avoid any politics whatsoever around him. If you know Stretch, you'd know that's hard to do! But I did like hearing his opinions. I enjoyed having him be able to answer my questions and clarify things for me. I bet if I was still privy to those conversations he would've gotten me more interested in the topics and to actually think to come to real thought-out conclusions. I probably still wouldn't agree with him most of the time, but possibly I'd be able to argue my case better. Who knows?

For those of you who don't know, I'm a member of a professional fraternity that is co-ed. My newest little brother, Super, is really a cool guy. He's a sophomore still in undergrad and he actually spends quite a bit of time talking to me. They recently had elections for new officer positions in the fraternity and my li'l bro was elected to the office of Fiery Dragon--the person who keeps order and makes sure things get done. So I asked him today, "Now that you wield the power of the Fiery Dragon, what are you going to do?" and the coolest part is that he actually had ideas. He said he's glad he got the position because he thought that a lot of the previous Fiery Dragons were rather sub-par. I have such a cool li'l bro. I have no doubt that he will actually carry out the things which he says he will.

And probably the best part about today is that I made contact with someone who thinks they can get me a job working at a temp agency that will hire me for just the little while that I'm here in town waiting for my paperwork to come through. I'd be like a substitute teacher, only for pharmacists. I'd be working in community pharmacies, which isn't my area of expertise, but I still think it would be cool. At least it would get me off my butt and not feeling quite so useless. It would also be a source of income, which is never a bad thing.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Beautiful Mess - Diamond Rio
One Year Ago Today: Raise up our glasses against evil forces!

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->