Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Loop-de-loop go the leaves

2003-09-16 - 9:05 p.m.

I'm strangely giddy tonight. What's the matter with me? I have no idea.

I didn't work today so I spent most of the day working around the house and the yard instead. I did laundry and dishes, which isn't too hard since it only involves putting stuff into machines, adding soap, and pressing go. I also mowed the lawn. At least I tried. I pulled the lawnmower out of the shed and took it into the front yard. I checked the gas tank, saw that it was almost empty and filled it up with what little gas was left in the gas can. Then I tried to start it. Of course it wouldn't cooperate. For some reason the pull-cord thing that you pull on to start it doesn't always catch. I pull on it and there's absolutely no resistence. The first time this happened I just about pulled my arm out of socket. But I'm used to it now so I was prepared. Usually, though, it eventually works. I kept messing with it with a lot more patience than I think most people would show and then I gave up and washed my car instead. Then I went back and messed with it some more. I finally gave up and went and cleaned the pool. Back to the lawnmower. This time, after much persistence, I finally got it started. I mowed the whole frontyard and half the backyard before it ran out of gas. Not only that but I managed to mow over a sprinkler in the front yard while I was at it. It seems I tend to do more harm than good these days when I do yard work. Ergh. Luckily, I didn't break the pipe, I just knicked the sprinkler head so the water would only shoot straight up. I tried to fix it myself, but I didn't have the muscles to unscrew the top. My dad found it very difficult to unscrew when he got home too, so I don't feel too bad about not being able to fix it myself. I do feel bad about running over the thing, though.

Scary stuff in Diaryland: yesterday when I went to read Heather's journal all I found was a blank white screen. At the time I thought it was a problem on my end of things--a bad connection or some trouble with my browser. Turns out it's some freak problem with Diaryland. And it's happened to other people. That's what it does to people just before it eats all their entries. I was thinking how upset I would be if Diaryland ate all my entries. I haven't been here for as long as a lot of you, but I've still put more work time-wise into this little diary than I've put into just about any project in my life, not counting my education or certain sports. Well, my fingers are crossed that Diaryland doesn't eat her entries, or anyone else's for that matter!

When I agreed to work at the hospital I'm working at tomorrow, I didn't realize how far away it is. I looked it up on Mapquest a few hours ago and discovered that it's over 80 miles away. I get payed for travel, but still, that makes my work day three hours longer. But at least tomorrow I will be working in a hospital. I will be their IV pharmacist for the day. I got a call this afternoon from the lady at the relief agency I'm working for. I talked to her secretary yesterday and told her I wouldn't be able to work this Friday because I'm going to San Francisco to be there when my grandfather has surgery. She seemed to think it was no big deal. Anyway, the lady in charge called me this afternoon to find out why I cancelled. I guess the secretary didn't pass along that bit of information. She wasn't happy about me cancelling because she had already told the hospital that I would work for them so the usual pharmacist is already on vacation, but she seemed to agree that my reason was a good one. She said she only had one other pharmacist working for her that has hospital experience so she would try to get him to work that shift. She would call me back to let me know how it turned out. She never called me back. Seems to be a common practice for them.

If I was going to get eight hours of sleep tonight I needed to be asleep a half hour ago. I'd better get myself to bed. It's been two and half months since I stepped foot in a hospital, hopefully I still know what I'm doing! Heh heh, don't worry, I have confidence.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Does He Love You - Reba McEntire & Linda Davis
One Year Ago Today: Flexible sigmoidoscopy entrance

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->