Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Whadya thinka this one, Myrtle?

2003-09-17 - 8:12 p.m.

4:07. That's what time I woke up this morning. 5:00. That's what time my alarm was set to go off. 53 minutes. That's how much time I spent lying wide awake in bed before my alarm went off.

When the job I worked today was first described to me last week, I was told I would be "the IV pharmacist in a small hospital." That statement turned out to be only mildly accurate. Yes, I was the IV pharmacist. I was also the everything else pharmacist, too. I was the only pharmacist in the hospital. There I was running my own hospital. Sounds sort of exciting, doesn't it? But of course this was a small hospital. It was a really busy day, though, and the hospital was "jam packed." That's right, we had 17 patients in the whole hospital. I hardly ever had a service that small in my last hospital. It was the easiest six-hundred bucks I've ever earned. Plus I finished three hours of CE while I was at it. I really wish I had brought more reading material.

Remember the pharmacy I worked for on Monday? They called up for a relief pharmacist for tomorrow and requested me specifically. How cool is that?

When the issue of recalling California's governor first came up, I was against it. I figured we voted for the guy, we should deal with the consequences. Besides, is there anybody competent to take his place? But at this point it seems as though all the money has been spent already so we might as well start afresh. Especially since the guy signs bills such as ones that allow illegal aliens to obtain driver's licenses. I keep wondering, what part of "illegal" am I not understanding, here? But anyway, the whole thing is such a farce now, I just wish it was over. And then they recalled the recall. That's right, chads. Punch cards have been working for us for decades, but we've degenerated in the past year to such a state that we can't manage them anymore. And now we're working on recalling the recall recall. How is anyone supposed to take any of this seriously?

In my dream last night my volleyball team was actually a softball team. It had all the same players. The only problem is that I'm horrible at softball. First my team was up to bat. I basically hid in the background and hoped no one would notice that I wasn't batting because I didn't want to get up there and strike out, as I invariably would. The funny thing about this softball game was that we had a volleyball ref. The pitcher was a member of our own team pitching slowly underhand. The ref would blow her whistle and do that hand motion to serve the ball like in volleyball and then the pitcher would pitch the ball. Eventually it was the other team's turn to bat. The other team was comprised entirely of buff men. I specifically remember Bruce Willis and several guys who were seniors on my high school football team when I was a junior. I stood out in left field by Kevin and we were talking while the other team batted. He would make plays and I would just stand there. Then I saw that a ball was going over our center fielder's head so I ran after it. She dived for it but missed and fell on the ground. I dived for it too and caught it after a few bounces and threw it to third base from a sitting position. After that I decided it was kinda fun. I decided to play center field. The next ball was hit hard and was headed just a few feet over my head. I reached up and caught it with one bare hand. Everyone stopped and stared at me in amazement at such a wonderful catch.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: It Must Be Love - Alan Jackson
One Year Ago Today: And beer for my horses!

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->