Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Breathing deep in a bakery shop

2003-09-21 - 8:48 p.m.

I'd have to say that today I'm back in control. Me worrying and crying isn't going to accomplish anything so I'm not going to do it. That's right, I'm feeling completely positive. I'm in control. Thanks to all of you for your support!

Today I made reservations for my mom and I to stay in a hotel within walking distance of the hospital next week. I also was able to get in contact with my brother to let him know what's going on. My brother is very similar to me in that it's often very hard to tell what he's feeling. He didn't seem very phazed over the phone when I gave him the news. Not that I really expected him to be. I was half hoping that he would drop everything and fly out to be here for it. But he didn't offer. And why should he? Everything will be fine.

Also today I talked to Flik. Remember earlier I was talking about how she was considering having a relationship with a certain guy? Well, now they are officially together. I think I have never known Flik to be so happy. Which makes me really happy, too.

Today was the day my laptop was supposed to come back. I knew it wouldn't, of course, because today is Sunday. But I'm still hoping for tomorrow. I know I shouldn't get my hopes up, but I really miss it. Having that laptop lent a certain freedom and privacy to my computing endeavors that I can't wait to have back.

Speaking of things I got in the mail, I finally heard from the Washington State Board of Pharmacy. They received all my application materials but are still waiting on that letter from the California Board. I'll give the California Board a call tomorrow to see what the hold up is and to hopefully prod them along a bit. And looking at the Washington Board's website just now I see that Stretch is licensed there now. Congratulations to him! A full-fledged pharmacist at last. The Washington Board did send me their big law book so I can start studying that. It could be lovely reading material while I'm in the hospital with my grandfather next week. Or while I'm hanging out at his house taking care of him the week after that. It's smaller than the Nevada law book, which is nice. I'm hoping that in a few weeks the California Board will have sent that letter to the Washington Board and I will be able to take the law test and get that out of the way.

Speaking of law, I'm thinking I should review some California pharmacy law too. I had an issue come up during my last shift which I wasn't sure how to handle. A patient handed me a prescription for a schedule II drug written on a regular prescription blank as opposed to triplicate form that California law demands. However, it did have the proper exemption code on it. But then I discovered that the doctor had written the incorrect name on the prescription. On a regular, non-C-II prescription I could call the doc and take the whole prescription as a verbal order. But C-II's have to be in the prescriber's handwriting. But this was an exemption and I wasn't sure if exemptions could be given orally. I finally found a copy of the law book in the library and found that C-II exemptions cannot be taken orally. But I should know these rules. I think I'm going to start taking a copy of the law book with me, too, just in case.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: National Working Woman's Holiday - Sammy Kershaw
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->