Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Walking around in your old sweaters

2003-10-06 - 8:36 p.m.

What's worse, the fact that I had to read to page five of the sports section this morning to read about a game I hadn't actually watched or the fact that I read to page five of the sports section?

But anyway, how about those A's? They lost tonight, but at least it was a good game. Good luck to Boston. I'll be rooting against you, of course, due to the comments of a cocky Red Sox fan, but good luck just the same. But actually, since all of California is out of it, I won't be watching anymore baseball. Aren't you glad you won't have to hear anymore baseball talk?

Instead, tomorrow I will be going home to vote. Gotta vote against Schwarzenegger. Taking my mom home--leaving Grampa here all alone--so she can vote against Schwarzenegger too. I'm sure the results of tomorrow's election will not be good. How can they be?

Today I cleaned some more of my grandfather's house. My grandmother died five years ago, but sometimes it almost feels as though she is still here. In all honesty, I don't believe in an afterlife of any sort, but sometimes I can still feel her. I often imagine that she is watching over me. And moreso here in her house. I feel as though she is going to walk around the corner at any moment. And when I'm cleaning here I feel like it makes her happy. She doesn't like that this house has been let to get so run down. Today my mom and I washed the curtains. We also washed the top part, I don't know what it's called, the poofy part that covers the top of the curtains. In the living room there are three windows right next to each other at angles making a sort of curve--I don't know what that's called either, bay windows maybe? Anyway, above them is draped one of those big poofy things over three separate rods. The material for this I would guess was about 100 feet long. When we layed it out it went across the living room, through the dining room and all the way across the family room and back again. It was quite a feat getting that rehung and while I was doing it I could practically hear Gramma behind me giving me instructions. Sometimes I'm amazed at how much I still miss her and how much I wish she were still here.

We took Grampa to his follow-up cardiology appointment today. The cardiologist took all of about five minutes to see him. Mostly he said Grampa looked great, which I could've told him myself, but it's nice to hear it from somebody who actually knows what they're talking about. And I like the cardiologist. He seemed like a nice guy. He treated all of us with the appropriate amount of respect, which seems like it's so hard to get these days.

Oh, and my dad called and said I got something in the mail from Washington today. The California board must've finally gotten around to mailing them that letter. That must be the paperwork that says it's ok for me to sign up to take the tests I need to take. Which means the ball's back in my court. It's up to me to decide when I want to get this done. Of course I haven't been studying. I will though. Let's do this and get on with my life.

I talked to both Deenpo and Flik yesterday. Yeah, I was still trying to give Flik love advice. Tigger and I are her two biggest confidantes, apparently, and we seem to be like the devil and the angel on her shoulders. Only I'm not sure which of us is which. Tigger keeps advising her against pursuing this relationship and I keep telling her to go for it.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: You Can Feel Bad - Patty Loveless
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->