Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Your eyes all off in space

2003-10-15 - 9:13 p.m.

You'll (hopefully) be glad to know that I do not have a brain tumor. After wearing my glasses instead of my contacts for a full week, I returned to my optometrist this morning and this time I was able to tell that there were letters on the wall. In fact, I could even read some of them. I still wasn't back to my baseline, but at least my vision is improving. So she's decided to let me wear my glasses for another week (oh joy) and see how my vision is then and in the meantime order me a different brand of contacts and hope that those don't cause this same problem. She thinks that my contact didn't allow enough oxygen to get into my cornea and that caused my cornea to swell up and my vision to get blurry. Ew. It's better than a brain tumor, though.

So yesterday I was sitting in the family room watching Dr. Phil on TV when he started interviewing this guy who was cheating on his wife because she has interstitial cystitis (a very painful bladder disorder) so he had to get his sex elsewhere. Meanwhile she blamed herself and felt bad for making him cheat. Why was I watching Dr. Phil? Well, it was 1:40 and Star Trek came on at 2 and I was hungry and wait...what was the question again? Oh my god, I'm watching daytime television. Oh please let that NAPLEX application hurry up and get here!

I mowed the lawn today. I actually managed to get the lawnmower going even though it gave me a hard time. My backyard is almost entirely level except at one side it has about a sixty degree slope that drops down about five feet followed by four feet of level and then the fence at the edge of our property. It's kind of annoying because this hill makes our six-foot fence be only about a foot higher than most of our yard. It's effective enough for keeping things out, but it does nothing for privacy. For privacy we have several trees planted on the hill. At any rate, the part of our yard that is lower than the rest is virtually useless. The ground is so hard that nothing grows there, not even weeds, and, being only four feet wide (although it is probably fifty feet long), it's not big enough for us to build anything there. In my family this section of the yard is referred to as "down the hill." As in, "Where'd you find that?" "Oh, it was down the hill." Today I decided to rake up all the leaves that were down the hill. I filled up our whole other "green" can. The only problem was that after I filled the can, there was no way I could get it back up the hill. I figured if I tried I'd wind up having to rake up all the leaves all over again. Luckily, my dad was able to manage it when he got home. And that was my major accomplishment for the day.

I also talked to DeenPo today. There are some things about this girl that I don't understand, but I know they will never change, so I just accept them. One of them is her living arrangement. She is the same age as I am and she graduated from pharmacy school at the same time that I did. She is still living in her mom's home. DeenPo, though, has no desire ever to move out. The difference between she and I, though, is that she isn't mooching off her mom, she's supporting her mom. That's unusual, but it isn't so strange. Her dad died before I met her so now she's living with her mom and also her two siblings. And that's what I find strange. She let's her siblings mooch off of her. Her little brother is still in college so I guess it's ok that he's still mooching. She has an older sister though who graduated from college four years ago and is still living at home. And this girl totally mooches off of DeenPo and DeenPo let's her. She spends all her money on clothes and junk and is generally very irresponsible. DeenPo was talking to me today about possibly buying a new house and how she was sure her sister would want more than one room to hold all her stuff. I had such a hard time keeping my mouth shut. Another thing DeenPo said today cracked me up. DeenPo doesn't live in a good section of town. When she was talking about buying a new house she told me that in her opinion she didn't think the new houses on the other side of town were safe because they didn't have bars on the windows. Woah.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Goodbye Love - Rent
One Year Ago Today: Difficult and cute

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->