Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


When I stroke my beard thusly

2003-11-24 - 11:57 p.m. (Houston Time)

I watched the second DVD of the extended version of The Two Towers this evening. It really was pretty cool. Gollum's Song makes me cry every time. It's so incredibly sad. Poor Gollum. It makes me wonder, though, is sad music sad because we've been conditioned to link such music with sadness or is it sad for some intinctual reason? If it was instinctual then sad music would sound similar or at least have common traits among all cultures, wouldn't it? I don't know enough about different cultures to know whether or not that's true. It's hard to imagine, though, any reason why humans as a species would need to develop a type of music to express sadness. Unless it's simply a way of communicating.

Anyway, today we ended up not doing too much. My sister-in-law worked all day and my brother was supposed to work from home all day, but for the most part he didn't. I spent a rather large portion of the day playing "Ratchet & Clank" on my brother's Playstation 2. I haven't played video games in ages and let me just take a moment to say ouch. Ouchie ouchie ouch ouch. My thumb is killing is me. How sad is that?

We didn't do any shopping today, but we did pass by a bookstore called "Quarter Price Books." I can hear it calling to me. Too bad I didn't leave more space in my luggage for the return trip!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Perfect - Sara Evans
One Year Ago Today: Pink ribbon

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->