Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


All we're left with

2003-11-30 - 5:07 p.m.

I'm back in good ol' Sacramento now. I have been for a few days actually. You know, I really prefer leaving my brother to having him leave me. I guess the break just seems less sudden or something, I don't know. Whenever he leaves me I cry, but I can manage to leave him without crying. Maybe it's an issue of being in charge. Whatever.

I worked all day yesterday. We did about 120 scrips, which isn't particularly busy, but it's not horribly slow either. It felt like half of those came in the last ten minutes, too. Why do people insist on coming in just as we're trying to close? Oh well, I don't mind the people who come in last minute, really, it's the people who come in after we're supposed to be closed that bug me. Yesterday we had some lady come in fifteen minutes after closing time begging us to sell her her son's prescription. That particular pharmacy is closed on Sundays so if I didn't sell it to her then, even though we'd already turned in the register drawer, she wouldn't be able to get it until Monday morning. And she told me it was her son's asthma medication. Of course I was nice and sold it to her but it seems to me that if your son has a life-threatening disease you might make more of an effort to make sure you never run out of his medication. A pharmacist in the first pharmacy I ever worked in as an intern once told a late customer, "A lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part." Only problem is it does. It's my job to care, right? And damn it, I do. So I took this lady's check over to the customer service window in the store where I was working yesterday and played dumb and sweet and helpless and convinced someone to go dig out the register drawer I'd already turned in and stick it in there. Luckily, someone there was nice enough to oblige me without too much complaining.

Well, in other news, I finished reading two books since I wrote in here last. Unfortunately, that means that the book I finished first has already been shoved off my little review thing down there. So I'll leave you another link. I finished reading Chung Kuo on the plane on the way home from Houston. In short, I loved that book. It's not cutesy at all, so if that's your thing, this book isn't for you, but if you like intricate plots, multi-faceted characters, and interesting writing, you should definitely read this book. I also finished reading Ray in Reverse, which, in short, sucked. Well, the writing wasn't uninteresting, it was just the story that was boring.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Chicks Dig It - Chris Cagle
One Year Ago Today: Are you blind in your little froggie eyes?

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->